Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I wouldn't waste my time and ingredients on this recipe again. They sunk in the middle and were so chewy they stuck to my teeth. I tried it again just for fairness and added 1/2 cup more flour, I live at a high altitude. They did much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I'm changing my review, which was previously very negative. I first wrote a rating when I tried the muffins while they were still hot. But believe it or not, these taste terrible hot and excellent when completely cooled off. Somehow the fudgy texture and chocolate taste are just not there until they cool down. While this recipe has far too much sugar for my taste, it actually is very good. The other thing that bothered me about these muffins was that they were SO hard to get out of the pan (I sprayed a ton of Pam on it, so that wasn't it). Because the recipe has so much sugar, they really weld onto the metal. Mine were all quite mutilated by the time I got them out. I would recommend using muffin liners. Maybe if you have silicon baking pans you'll be fine, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
i followed the recipe and they are dreamy! totally moist and fudgy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Gila Lowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Nice recipe, I recommend a few changes: - I used the recommended amount of cocoa, though it could definitely use more as some reviewers suggested (try 1/3 cup instead of 1/4) - To make these rise with nice big tops, do 3 things: 1) When you add the wet ingredients to the dry, do not stir/mix. Instead, use a whisk until the ingredients are just barely wet. You want a lumpy dough. 2) fill up the muffin tray all the way to the top, even slightly over the top. 3) bake at 400 for 5 minutes, then 350 for 22 more. With the tray filled to the brim, they come out perfectly moist after this amount of time (if you opt for less filling reduce the cooking time like others have mentioned). These 3 steps result in those nice 'bakery style' tops. This recipe yielded me 6 nice big muffins with this technique rather than 12 smaller ones, - I would half the cinnamon - I could definitely taste it in the finished product, a little too much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
These are really more like chocolate chip cookies in a muffin cup. The taste is really good, but they don't really resemble muffins at all...flat in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
They came out alright. Sweet and certainly edible. They had an awful lot of chocolate chips for how much batter there is. It made exactly 12 muffins for me. They were short but fully cooked. I cooked them for 22-23 minutes and rotated the pan once halfway through. It just didn't satisfy my craving for a chocolate chip muffin. It tasted like a "healthy" brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These were just ok. My 9 year old daughter said they were, "too much." Very rich in our opinion. I forgot to top with the confectioners sugar and omitted the cinnamon because I used cinnamon applesauce, I'll probably look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Wow, these are either the best muffins I have ever made or I was really craving chocolate badly, LOL. Maybe both. I added two extra tablespoons of cocoa and a teaspoon of baking powder and did not add the cinnamon. These are just so delicious. Five stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
As far as muffins go - these are fantastic. Easy to make and easy to eat. Moist, fudgy with a crisp top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Just made these and they are yummy! Added some sugar on top to add some texture (like the other poster said). They turned out beautifully! I think the key is not to bake too long so they are still fudgy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States