Fudgy Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I usually make brownies with cocoa, but decided i'd use the unsweetened chocolate i had sitting in the cabinet. I was under the impression that each wrapped block was 2 ounces and only ended up using half the chocolate the recipe called for. They brownies were still very good and fudgy. One thing i noticed was that the ingredients calls for vanilla extract, but the procedure forgets to mention when to add it. Don't forget to add it when making the brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
If you like chocolate you'll LOVE this one! Great chocolate fudgy taste good with milk. Next time I'll add nuts. P.S. Don't over bake these or they become hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
These brownies turned out wonderfully! I like them pretty fudgey- not cakey. I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and baked them in a 8x8 inch glass pan. They were perfectly done in 30 minutes. I've been looking for a simple brownie recipe to send to my brownie-deprived friends in Russia. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
These were THE BEST!!!!!! winner over all the other brownie recipes i have tried off this site! - The first time i made it I doubled because one yield would not be enough for all,LOL! I was SO glad i doubled because it was SO delicious and the texture was perfect,and yes do not over cook as I did by only a few mins because it Will get tough! This was SUPER easy and was great and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I found this recipe a few months ago, and now I always have to keep unsweetened chocolate squares on hand so when my fiance says, "Hey, why don't you make those awesome brownies tonight?" I'm ready! A few tips from someone who's made this several times: I add a handful of chocolate chips and a handful of walnuts and it's great. One time I forgot to set my oven timer, and so I had to guess whether they were done, which I'm not very good at. A toothpick came out not quite clean so I let them go a little longer, and then a little longer... I kept them going until the toothpick came out clean, and that batch came out awfully dry. Each cut brownie would crumble on the plate. Next time I made them I experimented and threw in a little applesauce to get them a little more moist, and I took them out of the oven when the toothpick was just a little shy of being clean. Very good batch! Also, for some strange reason these are always much better on the second day, and even on the third day. I say, make a batch and enjoy a little brownie that night, but save most of them for the next night. Really good recipe for serious chocolate lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
These brownies were not gooad at all! i made it exactly to the recipe except i changed it the flour to whole wheat flour. the batter as its self was really grainy. and when made, they were a really weird consistency. i wont be making these again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I have finally found the perfect brownie recipe!!! I prefer brownies to be really fudgy, like brownie mix brownies, but my husband likes them more cakey. This recipe is the perfect middle ground for us. I didn't have a 9x9 pan, so I used an 8x8 and baked them for about 35 minutes. I also tried them in a mini muffin tin, baked for about 17 minutes, to make great brownie bites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I was rather disappointed by this recipe. I baked them JUST at the prescribed time limit (25 min) and they turned out quite dry. I have never had trouble with my oven temperature in other recipes and I lined my pan with parchment so I'm guessing that the time should be 18-20 minutes if you want them to be gooey. Another option might be to reduce the flour by 2 Tbs. I managed to save them by melting 2 ounces of semisweet chocolate with 1 Tbs each cream and butter to make a ganache to spread over top. They are now more like a cookie and at least they taste good, but definitely NOT fudgy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These were nice tasting, but didn't turn out fudgy for me. they were almost a mix between a really gooey brownie and cake. Sorry, but i've gotta say these didn't hit the spot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
A very quick and delicious dish! It was also virtually mess free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States