Fudgy Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
These brownies turned out PERFECT! Instead of baking them in a 9x13 pan, I made them in an 8x11 so that they were just a little thicker and I followed someone else's suggestion for adding the second 1/3 cup of oil BEFORE the eggs and sugar. I also added about half a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips (I never make brownies without them!) and Oh My Goodness! These were the best home made brownies I've ever made! I've already put the recipe in my card box. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This recipe is excellent and, if I could give more than five stars, I certainly would!!! First of all, because these brownies are non-dairy, my grandson can enjoy them along with the rest of the family. This recipe bakes up into moist and flavorful dark fudge brownies. I made two pans, one for work and one for my granddaughter's birthday party, and these were enjoyed by all. At the party, I literally had people wrapping them up to take home before they were all gone from the pan. My son-in-law raved about these the next day and said that they have a great "edginess" to them. I think they have a very "sophisticated" chocolate flavor to them. The only change I made was to add one cup of frozen Ghiradelli Bittersweet Chips to the batter just before baking. I do agree with some other reviewers, the bake time should be lessened because even with the addition of the bittersweet chips and the use of two jumbo eggs, I only needed to bake these for 30 minutes. (As a general rule, brownies should only be baked until they just begin to pull away from the sides of the pan. I rely on this more than stated baking times as a way to avoid over-dry brownies.) Trish, thank you for a truly wonderful recipe that will now be my standard go-to for brownies!! Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These are really good---they aren't cakey and they aren't as fudgy as some other brownies I have made. I would say they are a good in between brownie--about an inch thick in a 9x13 pan. They are so easy to make. I added an extra 1/4 cup of cocoa (I used a blend of natural and dutch-processed cocoa); I also added a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and two teaspoons of espresso powder. My husband isn't big on chocolate or sweets, but he really likes these because they aren't too sweet. thanks for the easy and very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
To be a good sport, I tried making this recipe again and I had the same results. They were dry and cracked on top and when I tried to slice them into pretty squares after they were cool, to take to a family function, the top cracked and the brownies fell apart into big chunks as I tried to slice them. I added more cocoa this time for more chocolate flavor and I didn't cook them as long as before so they were very fudgy and chocolately this time. If you want chunks to eat by hand or toss onto some ice cream, they are absolutely delicious this way. But I never could slice them into nice squares; they just fell apart into pieces. I will make this recipe again, but not to take to work or family get togethers as I can't get them to slice into nice pretty squares even after cooling. The tops are a thin hard layer that crack when you try to slice, underneath the brownie falls into pieces as you try to cut them. But overall, very good brownie to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is the exact recipe my mom used as we grew up. I even have it posted at my blog as coming from her, because I don't know the original recipe's author, since my copy of it is hand written. So I made this for a bake sale at our yard sale, and these were hot sellers! These are rich, dense, and fudgy! I made them in an 8x8 pan, baked for 40-50 minutes, checkig it. Cut into 9 big squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This is my only brownie recipe! I lost my copy of the recipe a couple of days ago and instead of using a 'substitute' recipe . .I just didn't make any . .not until I found my copy. These are so wonderful! I must say that even if ten people used the same recipe, chances are there will be ten different results. Some people just have a special touch . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJCRIMBLES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This is my idea of the ultimate brownie. I made it exactly as the recipe was written and they turned out perfect. I wouldn't even add more sweetness - they were chewy, fudgy, and moist - even when left out uncovered overnight. I think my family still prefers the Dump Bars (also on this site) because of the chocolate chips but I found those to be on the dry side. I found my little slice of brownie heaven - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I made this recipe with 4 children (aged 5,6,7 and 8) and had them do all the measuring and mixing and it turned out fabulous!! Great easy recipe and very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
The first time I made this recipe, I had pockets of baking soda in the finished product. I suggest sifting the cocoa and soda. Also, it add the second 1/3 cup of oil before you add the eggs and sugar, or they don't stir well. It also better to add the vanilla and salt in with the eggs and sugar, before the flour. Try adding 1/4 to 1/3 cup chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I don't think I've ever made brownies from scratch before even with all the baking I do... brownie mixes are pretty darned good. This recipe wasn't as good as I was hoping. The flavor is not intensely chocolatey and even with 2 cups of sugar it doesn't seem sweet. The texture isn't as chewy as I expected although it is fudgy and not cake-like. The recipe was easy and it was nice to use just a bowl and a spoon and not get the mixer out but I don't know if I will make this again. Be sure to cool completely before serving, for some reason they don't taste very good warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States