Fudge Truffle Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I absolutely loved this cheesecake! I made it twice, however, because the first time, I processed the vanilla wafers with the sugar, but the crust came out too mushy. The next time, I used finely crumbled oreos with some butter and it was perfect! I also substituted the semi-sweet chocolate chips for dark chocolate chips. I served it with strawberries and fresh whipped cream, entered it in a Bake-Off and won first place! Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Amazing cheesecake - once cooled completely the texture is very dense and fudge-like. I used chocolate animal crackers for the crust and swapped the confectioners sugar for granulated sugar and melted the butter in order to more easily press the crust into the pan. I used 60% cacao chips instead of milk chocolate. I put a pan of water in the oven with my cheesecake and then baked for 55 minutes, left in oven for 1 hour, and then refrigerated for one hour. It was beautiful - no cracks. I'll make again and garnish with ganache, powdered sugar, whipped cream, or strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Very smooth, nice flavour when cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyone1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I made the recipe as written with the exception of using a Betty Crocker Gluten Free Brownie mix for the crust due to Celiac disease. I used a 10 inch springform pan. I baked the cheesecake for 55 minutes at 300 degrees and then turned the oven off and left it in for about 10 minutes. Unfortunately, due to the bigger pan size, the cheesecake was overbaked. 45 minutes at 300 degrees and being promptly removed from the oven would have been perfect. The three star rating is not due to the cooking times. It's for the flavor of the cheesecake. For my family and me, the flavor was three stars at best - none of us were overly impressed. Will keep looking for the perfect recipe. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
The cheesecake tastes like chocolate mousse. I have never made a cheesecake or even used a spring form pan before. I am the world's worst baker and was surprised this turned out. The only problem was when I undid the spring form, the sides of the cake stuck to the pan causing a huge rip in the cake by pulling it apart. Not sure what I did wrong? Directions did not say to grease the pan or flour it? UPDATE: I have since learned it helps to lightly grease it before putting the cookie crust and filling inside the pan. Also, to run a knife around the inside of the springform pan/baked cake before releasing it from the pan. I took this to work and people raved over it....only complaint was it was really rich....which didn't stop my Sergeant from eating two slices!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was amazing! And one of the easiest cheesecakes I've ever made. I used a basic crumb crust (using chocolate graham crackers) and milk chocolate chips (it was all I had!) I baked as directed, but let it sit in the oven after I turned it off for about 20 minutes, then chilled overnight. My son who loves chocolate, but hates chocolate cheesecake couldn't get enough!! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Husanu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boog
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
followed recipe to a T, exept for a suggestion from another person, turn oven off and leave cheesecake in oven for another hour, then chill, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was amazing! Way way better then any other cheesecake i've ever tried. My whole family loved it. Like other reviewers I left it in the oven with the oven off for a about an hour after the 55 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I don't like regular Cheesecake however, I love this one. The chocolate hides the cream cheese flavor. I make this yearly for Christmas. I have been asked several times for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Very simple and easy to make, but the cake did not firm as much as I would have liked it to. The guys, at the party, did go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States