Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CYMBELINE
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Fantastic recipe! This is by far the easiest fudge sauce I've ever made. It's very fast and easy to make, and it's absolutely delicious! It tastes a lot like Dairy Queen's hot fudge sauce, which I love! This is my #1 fudge sauce recipe now - thank you so much for sharing it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This sauce is great...the consistency is a lot like the dairy queen stuff. I did find it a little sweet and not really 'chocolatey' enough. I would probably, instead of one ounce of chocolate, add 2 or maybe even 3. I'll let you know when I try that! All in all, not bad with vanilla ice cream, and peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very silky fudge sauce. It does firm up a lot to a chewy texture on top of ice cream. Something missing, not quite sure what...EDIT: Downgraded to 2 stars as it becomes "chunky" grainy after 3 days in fridge. My mom makes a great sauce that does become "fudgy-grainy?" but this was not the same, just chunky. If I ever make again, we'll eat immediately after it is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I disagree...this does NOT at all taste like Dairy Queen's sauce, nor is it the same consistency. It's very thin and too sweet, not enough chocolate. When I tried it adding more chocolate, it became too chewy (almost hard) and caramel like in texture when placed on ice cream. Save yourself time and money and get Smucker's Special Recipe Hot Fudge. It's the closest thing on the market to DQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This is an excellent old fashioned true fudge recipe and it will thicken a lot when refrigerate but heat it in the microwave and it's delicious again. The grainy texture is what makes it like true fudge and not the creamy fudge you buy in the store. The absolute best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
The recipe was easily to follow, very simple. I was a bit baffled as to which corn syrup to use- light or dark. I used dark-I figured that the color would complement that of the chocolate and that was the only one I had readily available. The sauce was a bit to sweet for me. But that might have been on my part - dark corn syrup adds a caramel flavor. But If that isn't the case, I recommend adding a little less sugar, perhaps a tbsp less, or such. I don't know. The sauce will thicken a little after the saucepan is removed from the heat. The texture was just about right, not too gummy, but not too watery. If the sauce is used to top ice cream (or another other frozen dessert, I am sure), it will become a little chewy, but not disgustingly chewy. Overall, I was satisfied. I would recommend this recipe for beginners. And just on a side note, make sure to use low heat to medium-low heat when melting the chocolate and butter as not to burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I have been trying to make my mother's fudge sauce that we used to pour over ice cream. We loved the taste but what we really loved was the fact that when it hit the cold ice cream, it would harden slightly and become chewy. Mom never used a recipe and at 87, she doesn't remember how she achieved that. This recipe comes very close! Thank you for helping to bring back fond memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
this was absolutely a total flop! It hardened like hard candy on my ice cream - I followed the recipe exactly - It took me forever to clean my pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Not chocolaty enough and much too chewy and caramel-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted with a bit of butter. Then added a bit of boiling water (I always use less of liquids and add more if need be), no sugar, a bit of corn syrop, no vanilla. I want it moderately liquidy to add over ice cream. Should be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States