Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I have made this twice now. The first time I did exaclty as instructed and it was very tasty. The second time I realized 1/2 way through the recipe that I did not have any evaporated milk in the house. Since I had company and needed the sauce, I used cream of coconut in lieu of the evaporated milk. AMAZING! It added a delicous richness to the sauce both in texture and in taste. My guests were floored and I will forver make this recipe substituting cream of coconut for the evaporated milk. The coconut flavor is subtle enough for non-coconut lovers to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Really good and very easy. I realized I didn't have evaporated milk and substituted 1/2 c. whole milk and it still thickened very nicely and had a great fudgy, sweet taste. Stored in fridge and consistency stayed perfect - thick but still pourable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Awesome... Absolutely great..but I do have one tip... sift your cocoa powder while adding it to prevent clumps in your sauce...but EXCELLENT recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
My husband liked the sauce but I thought it was too thin and I didn't care for the cinnamon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Very good! I left out the cinnamon just because I didn't think I would like it. I sifted the cocoa and it came out smooth. It was a little salty and I think that was due to the butter I used was salted. Next time I would cut back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Quick and easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. After reading the reviews I sifted the cocoa and my sauce was lump-free. Was on the fence about adding the cinnamon and added 1/2 tsp. My family did not care for the taste of cinnamon and requested I omit it the next time I make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
So delicious. I added half a teaspoon of cornstarch and it came out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
WOW! Rich, smooth, yummy sauce! I'm a choc-a-holic so I used 3 heaping tablespoons of cocoa, left out the cinnamon, and within minutes had a wonderful chocolate sauce! Easy and had all ingredients on hand - what more could you ask for? Love this stuff! I did NOT sift the cocoa, just stirred it with the other dry ingredients as per the recipe and I had absolutely no lumps whatsoever and my sauce came out nice and thick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
this is a lovely, smooth sauce. it is really good with a slice of white cake or over ice cream. I left out the cinnamon, but I am sure it would be just as tasty. easy to assemble and keeps a long time in the fridge.served it during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilypads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
A tasty companion to "Deep Dark Chocolate Souffle" on this site-- half the recipe is enough. So easy to make... why go store-bought?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States