Fudge Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
My family has been making this pie for years with two small changes. 1-Melt the butter and 2- Dont pre-bake the crust but rather bake at 300 degrees for 45-50 min and it turns out beautifully without the crust being overdone. My husband can eat half of this pie by himself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made two pies at once. I used store bought deep crusts, and baked them for 10 minutes instead of the directed 15+. I mixed the sugar and melted butter first, added and mixed the eggs, added and mixed in the vanilla, added and slowly mixed in the cocca, and finally added and mixed in the flour. I used the amounts given in the recipe exactly. (just doubled) I had to bake these two for 52 mins. I am glad I used the Deep crusts, because the filling baked all the way up to the top of them. I let them cool completely, then topped with coolwhip, and sprinkled the top with mimi morsels. They turned out beautiful and were awesome pies! This recipe is a keeper! *Update* I made this without melting the butter first and it ruined the recipe. Melted butter is a must!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This is like a brownie filling in a pie crust. It is very rich, and has a very interesting taste. I served it topped with whipped cream. I think it is better after it has been chilled and has firmed up a little. Per the earlier reviews, I first creamed the sugar and (softened) butter, then beat in the eggs and vanilla, and finally added the dry ingredients. I had to bake it much longer than indicated - probably closer to 40-45 minutes. Next time, I would barely bake the crust before adding the filling. The edges of the crust got a little dark, since the pie had to bake so long. Next time, I might try to add mini mint-chocolate chips to the batter before baking. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This is an absolutely wonderful pie! Yes, it does taste like a rich, moist and gooey brownie. You'd never imagine that the brownie flavor goes so wonderfully in a pie crust, but it truely does. Topping this slice of heaven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream is a must. My family and I were a little leary of the initial "looks" of the pie, but the taste proved to be worth the (next to no) effort that was put in to making it. I suggest creaming together the butter and sugar, then adding the eggs and vanilla. Once combined and smooth, add in the dry ingredients a little at a time. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
What a great recipe!! The only thing I changed is I added 3 eggs instead of 2. It held up really well and did not crack or collapse like other recipes i have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My family absolutely loved this recipe, as well as my co-workers. This pie made a great dessert for the company Christmas party. I used my mixer to beat the ingredients and came up with a different, fluffier texture. It was great! To keep the crust from getting too done you could use the rim of an old pie pan. Just cut everything off the pan but the rim and place it on the crust when it has reached the desired level of golden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This is like no pie I've ever had. A nice departure from chocolate creme, my usual favorite. I mixed the filling in the food processor. The top of the filling forms a nice crust, sort of like a creme brulee. Tonight I ate a slice plain but it would be fabulous with whipped creme and maybe even some berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krsmarie
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This pie is good and very easy to make. I did use a frozen unbaked pie shell and cooked at 300 for 50 minutes and it came out perfect. It is a very very fudgy moist pie, almost has the texture of a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hohenwald, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Very good. I had to bake it for 45 minutes to set. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME!! I never had Fudge Pie until I moved to Tennessee. A friend from church gave me this exact same recipe. I did have a deep dish pie shell, and so I scaled the servings to 12, and it worked wonderfully! My husband and I loved it! This is going in the old recipe file to hand down to my daughters! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsmiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Liberty, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States