Fudge Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Love the taste, however the filling fell as it cooled!! Made two pies and they both fell. I could not serve the pies this way to company and since I was having a guest who cannot have dairy such as Cool Whip, I went to the store and bought Rich's Non Dairy Whipped Topping (defrosted and whipped the topping) and spread it on the "sunken" pies. Added fresh raspberries to the topping and received oo's and ah's. Next time, I will double the filling recipe as suggested. By the way, I froze the left-overs even with the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I normally test recipes before I bake for an event. But I made this one on a whim on Thanksgiving. I've been looking at the recipe for over a year now and hadn't made it. Boy I'm glad I did! Admittedly it did get overbaked. ( I blame my husband for not hearing the oven timer, lol) But it still turned out Sooooo good! I used a graham cracker crust instead of regular pie crust. A must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was very quick and easy to put together. When I put the ingredients together, which was awesome for saving time with all of my Thanksgiving baking. I thought the batter looked like it wouldn't be enough to fill the pie, but it does rise up when you bake it (end result was about 3/4 inch thick in my 9in pie dish). You could probably double the recipe for one pie shell to make it super rich and thick. It definitely tastes like a fudgie brownie. Instead of vanilla I added 2 tblsp of Kahlua. It's not a fancy dessert, but I would make this again. I give this four stars because my family said they have preferred other pies I have made in the past to this one-- I usually make a chocolate cream pie. However, this one is much easier and faster to make than a chocolate cream pie. I would probably make it again because its tasty, fast, cheap to make, and easy. javascript:__doPostBack('ctl00$ContentPlaceholder$edit$saveButton','')
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Phenominal! Came out perfect baked at 325 for 30 mins. Family loved it and now I'm the designated bringer of Fudge Pie for every Thanksgiving from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe like this for years! My mother used to make this for my husband..it was his favorite! She had Alzheimer's and died before she ever taught any of us to make it and she never wrote anything down. I made one for Thanksgiving and already had to make another for today. THANK YOu for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I've Tried to make from scratch brownies and cakes in the past. No matter how easy the recipe they always turn out Awful! I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars. I made it for ThanksGiving Dinner this year and it turned out Wonderfully! It was the hit pie at the dessert table. I melted the butter and mixed in the sugar, then added the rest of the ingriedents. I made a double batch (16 servings) And it filled 2 Pilsbury pie crusts perfectly. I also did not bake the pie crusts before hand. If I would have it would have ruined the crust. I baked it on 325 for 50 minutes. Let cool and topped with whipped cream. PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So tasty & simple! I made this twice. The first time I followed the recipe as is. Came out awesome, but like the rest of the reviewers - took more time in the oven than it states. It seemed a little on the "skinny side" in my deep-dish pie plate, so my husband suggested doubling the filling. Next round I did just that. I lowered my oven temperature to 325 and baked the doubled recipe for about 1 hour. Came out great! It's quite rich, so if you do double the filling, I'd recommend serving smaller slices. (Or if you're like me and don't care, just eat it anyway.) :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is my go to fudge pie recipe. Always a hit when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
My husband says it's the best "chocolate" type pie he'd ever tasted. This was quick and easy for me to fix. I can't wait to make these for the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leelo
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
We really enjoyed this pie. The texture was absolutely perfect. The flavor, however, was slightly bland. It was MUCH better after it refrigerated overnight. We served it cold topped with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States