Fudge Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is also a favorite at our holiday get togethers. I read the recipe wrong the first time I made them and combined the final chocolate with the frosting. Pretty good and saves the final spreading step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I first made this recipe last Christmas, for a family get-together, and they disappeared. I always omit the nuts, though, because I'm not a huge fan and a number of my family members are allergic. Also, even though 1.5 oz of chocolate for the topping seems too small, I've found that it still spreads over most if not all of the dish, and the thinness makes it nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A family favorite for many years. Still looking for a way to spread that final layer of chocolate...such a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I prefer these to the seven layer bars. I had these at a tea at a teacher's house, and begged for the recipe. They are now on my husband's top five cookie list. I used powdered egg whites instead of a raw egg (used equivalent of two) to decrease risk of salmonella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
AWESOME thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Not bad. Never been crazy about coconut in baking. Double the chocolate for the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I have been making this recipe for years also and is always a big hit. For the top layer I use 1 square of unsweetened and 1 square of semi-sweet or German Chocolate. You need at least 2 or 3 squares to adequately spread over the white/sugar layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura v

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is our all-time family favorite. Sometimes I use peppermint extract in the frosting layer and add a little green food color. I also use unsweetened chocolate in the crust, and drizzled over the top, cuts back on the sweetness, but it is still very rich. I use egg substitue in the crust, I think that can prevent salmonella? We also cut them very small because they are so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
This recipe originally comes from Betty Crocker. I've been making it for years and it is delicious (and very, bery sweet. I often melt about 3 squares of chocolate for the top, since one isn't usually enough to cover the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States