Fudge Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
My family loved this cake when I made it. The cake batter tastes just like a boxed version, only better homemade! It took a while for me to frost it, I think it called for too much confectioner's sugar, but it turned out great and I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
THIS WAS A FANTASTIC CAKE! THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I HAVE EVER MADE. A LITTLE DIFFICULT THAN MOST ONE BOWL CAKES BUT WORTH IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
You kind of have to mold the icing on with your hands. But this recipe tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This cake was amazing, didn't even need frosting it was so tasty, although I made homemade chocolate buttercream frosting instead of the frosting from recipe. The first time I made it it was time consuming, but the taste made it worth the trouble. I made a second time and seemed a bit easier. This was a winner for my daughter's birthday suprise. Will definitely make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This review is for the cake only. It was moist with lots of flavor, but had a hard time getting it to come out of the pan. Frosted it with "Amaretto Frosting" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
Very moist cake, not overly chocolately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
The cake itself was pretty good. It has a smooth texture and just the right amount of chocolate in it. However, if you don't want your cake-making efforts to go to waste DO NOT make the frosting. While it does taste ok, no amount of begging, pleading or threatening would make the stuff spread or stick to the cake. I tried using a frosting knife, a butter knife and even resorted to trying to press it on with my fingers but it just would not stay on the cake. Even though it ended up looking really terrible, I was able to convince people to eat it and they admitted that it tasted good, but just looked bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was a fairly good recipe. It was a little dry. I used it to make a father's day cake. The icing I used was Best White Icing Ever. I filled the layer with carmalized sweet and condensed milk. Next time I will try to fill the layer with wipped cream (add moisture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I followed the recipe carefully, the icing was very good but the cake was not fudgy at all, it may be enjoyed by someone with a love of dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Review is for the frosting only. I used it with a different cake. The recipe as written did not work, I think it calls for too much powdered sugar. After adding 3 T. cream I was able to get it somewhat spreadable. My husband liked it, but it was very hard to work with and not very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States