Fudge Chunkies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
As a cookie...maybe but as a brownie....Perfection!!! crusty yummy outside; fudgey, soft, chewy inside. I put dough in a small baking dish and baked it for about 25 minutes and they are sensational. Chocolate overload heaven! Definitely making the double batch next time. I can hardly keep my hands out of the pan so my girls can have some when they get home from school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
For a chocoholic family, this recipe meets the criteria of very very chocolatey. However, after chilling one hour, the dough was quite sticky to work with. When baked, they were a more "cakey" style cookie. I prefer something crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. This cookie is soft all the way, with a tendancy to be crumbly. I still gave this four stars simply because of the uber "chocolatey" flavor. The texture left me feeling that something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Sinfully delicious chocolatey goodness. The best way to describe this incredibly rich chocolate cookie is like a truffle but it is a cookie. The outside gets a delicate thin crisp shell with the inside keeping an incredible softness that melts in your mouth like fudge. I covered and kept my extra baked cookies in the fridge and the next day they still had this consistency. The batter is very loose until well chilled (you need more than an hour) and then is able to be worked with as instructed (I chilled mine overnight). Don't overbake ... cookies will set up. I didn't have dutch-processed unsweetened cocoa powder which is acid-neutralized and used Hershey's natural unsweetened which was still good. The nut, chips and raisin combination perfectly compliment one another and there isn't anything I would change for this recipe except to double it to make more, more, more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
If you are a chocoholic, you will love these cookies! I omitted both the nuts and raisins however. The recipe suggests parchment paper, but I strongly recommend it. I made the first batch having sprayed Pam on my cookie sheet, and the cookies splat because of the grease and were very flat. The next batch I placed on parchment paper, and these looked like totally different cookies. By the way, one recipe makes a dozen cookies. I am thinking that next time I may stir in mini nonpareils instead of the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I loved them, but would leave out the raisins next time for my dh's sake. The dough is like brownie batter and when chilled overnight it was too hard to scoop, yet when softer is sticky to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hector, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Unbelievable!! Best chocolate cookie I ever ate. I'm so glad you posted this recipe. I made it exactly as you said and they came out perfect. They do spread and they are very soft and gooey but if you put them in the fridge for a bit they are wonderful!! I like my chocolate on the chilled side anyway and these cookies are perfect for that. Wonderful ... thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
The only thing wrong with this recipe is that it makes so few cookies. The batter went together well and baked up well. Even at high altitude 14 minutes was the perfect baking time. The only thing I did different was to use chocolate chunks instead of chips, because I like encountering big chunks of chocolate in my cookies. The first tray I forgot to flatten the balls, but in the end I liked the way that tray came out better than when I flattened them just a little. I'm still debating whether or not to include the raisins next time I make these - they provide an interesting surprise in the cookies, and in the final analysis I think I like that. This is a great recipe, a real keeper. I will be making it again, and definitely doubling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Oh yeah, these are good- my friend and I made recipe as is- less the raisens- and LOVED it. Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This cookie is sinful! No diet this week.......... The baking time you need to keep to,too long in the oven makes for a cakey,crumbly cookie.......this one is a keeper for the holiday gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
These are quite good, but not spectacular. The dough was scrumptious, but the flavor kind of faded upon baking. I think to get the really wonderful chocolate flavor in a chocolate cookie, you have to use a lot of the bar chocolate~~the 60-70 per cent cocoa, really expensive chocolate in bars. But these were pretty good. The set up nicely and looked attractive. Don't know if I'd make them again, though. If I do, I'd add a few more chocolate chips and nuts to make them even chunkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States