Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Alisan
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I would've given this 5 stars if I had not needed to change the recipe a tad. I put in 3/4 cup of chocolate because it definitely needed more. I also used buttermilk instead of souring the milk with lemon juice. I went ahead and used the chocolate cream cheese icing and brown sugar cream cheese icing that another member suggested. Also, as a semi-beginner cook, I didn't realize that I should've put the batter into two round pans as there was just too much batter in one to cook in that amount of time and it caved in a tad in the middle. The taste was AMAZING though so it still deserves at least 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
ive never tried it before but it really sounds good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
OHHHH WOW! This was soo good! This is going to be my favorite chocolate cake recipe! I used buttermilk instead of the milk and lemon, and because I love chocolate so much, I used 3/4 of a cup of cocoa. I also added about 3tbs of instant coffee granules. I put it into two 9" pans thinking I might freeze one, but it was so good there was no way I would freeze it- our family would have eaten every last bite- so I gave one away. I hope they enjoy it as much as we did!! I iced it with a dark chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This cake was okay. It lacked chocolate flavor and wasn't very moist, but still it wasn't a *bad* cake. I wasn't all that disappointed when my two-year-old pulled the cake plate off the counter and sent it crashing to the floor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This cake was really surprising! I followed it pretty much to the T and it came out very bland and did not have that chocolate flavor. I think you should add less sugar and A LOT more chocolate. powder. I do not think I will be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Not fudgy nor chocolatey...wet.... to much liquid in batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Had a really nice, soft, dense texture--not like any cake I've ever baked. Tasted only "okay", though. I'm still looking for a cake where the chocolate really comes through. I would make this again, based on the texture alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
THIS IS THE BEST FUDGE CAKE I'VE EVER MADE I REALLY LOVE THIS RECIPE IT'S SO DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baguio City, Benguet, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Rich moist homemade flavor. Great frosted with chocolate buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjeiroudi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I baked this less than the 30 minute time given and it cam out dry dry dry. Very disappointing. The Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting used as rec'd is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States