Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Very good! This recipe was very easy to make. It had a very moist, fudgy texture and lots of chocolate flavor. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Really loved this recipe, made it up as muffins for my children lunches. I froze them to send on hot days. Were perfect at lunch, nice cool and perfectly fluffy. I highly recommend this recipe. My girls ask for them daily...now that's a recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I scaled this for 9 servings and baked it in an 8x8 pan. It came out fine, taking about 30 minutes to bake. I like this cake very much, it is moist and chocolatey but not overly rich. I also made the full recipe in two 9-inch layers and frosted with Fudge Buttercream Icing and it was a seriously satisfying chocolate "fix". Had to bring the cake to the office or I'd eat it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by Cherry Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I honestly can't believe more people haven't tried this recipe. It is probably one of the best chocolate fudge cakes I've ever baked. (and I've baked quite a few!). I changed the recipe to 9 servings and this was actually just over what I needed. I baked an 8inch layer cake and still had mix left over! I used low fat margarine instead of butter to make it a little less sinful. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon to add a little spice. Just before I put the tins in the oven I dropped a handful of roughly chopped dark and white chocolate chunks into the top of the mix. These added some nice surprises in the middle of the cakes. I baked it for 25-30 minutes and the result was so perfect. It was intensely moist and rich and chocolatey but it was also light to the bite unlike a lot of heavy chocolate cakes. I filled the layer cake with my Raspberry Layer Cake Filling and frosted the tops and sides with the Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting and Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting. I added fresh raspberries to the top and chocolate shavings. I will be making this cake time and time again. It is now my no1 chocolate cake recipe! The only thing I can think that is putting people off with giving this recipe a go is the lack of detailed instructions, but if you've baked a cake or two before it is easy to work out the details. For example make sure you grease and flour your tins before you put the mixture in ;) I urge everyone to give this recipe a go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Rich moist homemade flavor. Great frosted with chocolate buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjeiroudi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was absolutely gorgeous! Tasted just like a chocolate fudge cake should; moist, chocolatey but not too heavy either. I don't understand how anyone doesn't like it because it's too dry! I made a round 9" cake with the 18 serving recipe and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perversia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockport, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by France
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
We loved it. Don't know why some people didn't like it, or how come it came out dry for them, not all ovens bake evenly, and mine is a very difficult oven, yet this cake didn't burn, baked perfectly and had a fudge cake texture. I baked in two round pans, which I had buttered and floured, and we're making again this weekend for our birthday party. It was also really nice to come across a recipe for a chocolate cake (with eggs, I tried eggless ones too which were really nice, on this site) not made with actual chocolate, and NOT from a PACKAGED MIX! Thanks a bunch for the recipe!! I might have to try those as cup cakes (adjusting cooking time of course) as I think they'd be FANTASTIC! Update 10 Oct 08: Made them as cupcakes and they turned out amazingly well! Had to adjust cooking time, but they were a HUGE success, piped some Decorator Frosting from this site http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Decorator-Frosting/ and they were easily transported to the party venue, the icing didn't stick to the plastic wrap at all. I'm one happy camper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
OHHHH WOW! This was soo good! This is going to be my favorite chocolate cake recipe! I used buttermilk instead of the milk and lemon, and because I love chocolate so much, I used 3/4 of a cup of cocoa. I also added about 3tbs of instant coffee granules. I put it into two 9" pans thinking I might freeze one, but it was so good there was no way I would freeze it- our family would have eaten every last bite- so I gave one away. I hope they enjoy it as much as we did!! I iced it with a dark chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This is the best cake I have made so far from this site. Everyone I make it for loves it. It is very moist, best chocolate cake I have ever tried. I also use it as a base for the better than sex cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
THIS IS THE BEST FUDGE CAKE I'VE EVER MADE I REALLY LOVE THIS RECIPE IT'S SO DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baguio City, Benguet, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States