Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2000
Nice and light- but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Very good! This recipe was very easy to make. It had a very moist, fudgy texture and lots of chocolate flavor. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This cake was pretty good. It was just like described, but there's something missing. Its kinda bland. Well, i'll keep experimenting and try to find out what's missing. Well, thanx Kristen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
A very good recipe if not overbaked, pay attention. The second one I made was very good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This is the best cake I have made so far from this site. Everyone I make it for loves it. It is very moist, best chocolate cake I have ever tried. I also use it as a base for the better than sex cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I scaled this for 9 servings and baked it in an 8x8 pan. It came out fine, taking about 30 minutes to bake. I like this cake very much, it is moist and chocolatey but not overly rich. I also made the full recipe in two 9-inch layers and frosted with Fudge Buttercream Icing and it was a seriously satisfying chocolate "fix". Had to bring the cake to the office or I'd eat it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by Cherry Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I honestly can't believe more people haven't tried this recipe. It is probably one of the best chocolate fudge cakes I've ever baked. (and I've baked quite a few!). I changed the recipe to 9 servings and this was actually just over what I needed. I baked an 8inch layer cake and still had mix left over! I used low fat margarine instead of butter to make it a little less sinful. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon to add a little spice. Just before I put the tins in the oven I dropped a handful of roughly chopped dark and white chocolate chunks into the top of the mix. These added some nice surprises in the middle of the cakes. I baked it for 25-30 minutes and the result was so perfect. It was intensely moist and rich and chocolatey but it was also light to the bite unlike a lot of heavy chocolate cakes. I filled the layer cake with my Raspberry Layer Cake Filling and frosted the tops and sides with the Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting and Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting. I added fresh raspberries to the top and chocolate shavings. I will be making this cake time and time again. It is now my no1 chocolate cake recipe! The only thing I can think that is putting people off with giving this recipe a go is the lack of detailed instructions, but if you've baked a cake or two before it is easy to work out the details. For example make sure you grease and flour your tins before you put the mixture in ;) I urge everyone to give this recipe a go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was a really good chocolate cake. I iced it with a cream cheese frosting but we did not care for the combination. I will make this again though with a butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I baked this less than the 30 minute time given and it cam out dry dry dry. Very disappointing. The Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting used as rec'd is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Rich moist homemade flavor. Great frosted with chocolate buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjeiroudi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States