Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very good homemade cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this for my son's 18th Birthday & It was a huge Hit! It turned out Perfect! The Coffee was a nice surprise. It added a nice rich flare but you can't really taste the coffee at all. YES! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
very yummy ill add a full cup of coco next time i make it but loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyspelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
It was a big hit but I thought it could have used a bit more chocolate. I increased the coco powder to 3/4 C as suggested but maybe I'll increase it to 1 C next time. It was still a yummy cake. I used homemade raspberry jelly (heated in microwave for easier spreading) and cheesecake pudding between the layers. Covered it with chocolate cream cheese frosting from this site and chopped up candied pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I added 2 tbsp of instant espresso powder, increased the unsweetened cocoa powder to 3/4 cups and used unsweetened dark cocoa powder instead of regular. Adding instant espresso powder to chocolate baked goods always makes them richer and taste more like hot fudge. What many people don't know is that restaurants will add hot coffee to hot fudge that is becoming too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This cake is my new favorite chocolate cake recipe! I will make this again and again. I didn't have the lemon juice so I just left it out and it turned out wonderfully. The cake is heavy but not too heavy. I baked it in a 9x13 greased pan for 28 minutes and then iced it with chocolate cream cheese icing. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I followed the ingredients carefully and the cake turned out thick & tough with a odd taste. You couldn't taste the chocolate. Not my kind of cake maybe. My son liked it but I didn't. I like fudge and brownie type desserts so I thought I would like this but the taste and texture was all wrong. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This cake is awesome! I made it adding 1 tsp. cinnamon and chopped dark and white chocolate as suggested by one of the reviewers. I frosted the middle and sides with Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting and the top with Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting from this site. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
My youngest daughter's partner will only eat chocolate cake so I made this mainly for him. I baked in 2 9" rounds and sandwiched with chocolate buttercream. My only slight complaint is that this dried out on the edges a little trying to get the centre done. That aside this was devoured in no time. Thanks for sharing your recipe Kristen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I just made this today and decided to make it sugar free. I used Splenda in place of the sugar. Added extra coca like suggested and this is VERY good. I used the sugar free frosting from this site and it made a very good cake. It is dense but very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States