Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I just made this today and decided to make it sugar free. I used Splenda in place of the sugar. Added extra coca like suggested and this is VERY good. I used the sugar free frosting from this site and it made a very good cake. It is dense but very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I thought this recipe was great for a novice, and not too bad. But, it wasn't amazing either It came out a little dry for me. I guess its good I made cake balls with it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwhatamess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I absolutely love the texture of this cake- if you're a fan of dense, moist cakes, this recipe is for you! The only problem I had with it is I didn't find it chocolatey enough. I would suggest adding some mini chocolate chips to the batter, using more cocoa powder, and/or replacing some of the cocoa with melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbyRS93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This wasn't all that fudgey or rich. It was a good, regular chocolate cake, but doesn't qualify as a fudge cake in my books. Other than that, there's nothing wrong with the recipe, but I will personally stick with Dark Chocolate Cake IV from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Awful. I have made many cakes from this site and I have never been as disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly, and it feel into pieces. It went straight into the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lia
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Just finished baking the cake. I think it's really fudgy. So dense and smooth texture. Unbelievably smooth. Not fluffy or airy at all. Taste ok, when it's just baked. Don't know for tomorrow or after refrigerated. I hope it gets tastier. I did all with low speed mixer from beginning to the end. Good recipe though, just need a little taste fixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I was worried abt trying this cake due to all the not so good reviews. I am soo glad I tried it anyway! It is so easy to make and the texture is perfect. I agree that it is not that fudgey or chocolatey, hence the four starts, but with a nice chocolate buttercream frosting, it would be absolutely perfect! I mixed everything by hand, and used evaporated milk instead of regular, and halved the recipe which I baked in an 8X8 pyrex pan. Other than that, followed exactly, but had to bake longer. Delicious, not dry at all, and also not too moist either. I would add a bit more cocoa next time, just to make it darker, or just use dutch processed cocoa, which is naturally darker. I may also add some chocolate chips to the batter next time. Thanks so much for this recipe, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Quick and easy, just leaves a lot of dishes! My two and a half year old and I baked it today in her little silicone moulds and the cake came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Really loved this recipe, made it up as muffins for my children lunches. I froze them to send on hot days. Were perfect at lunch, nice cool and perfectly fluffy. I highly recommend this recipe. My girls ask for them daily...now that's a recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by France
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
We loved it. Don't know why some people didn't like it, or how come it came out dry for them, not all ovens bake evenly, and mine is a very difficult oven, yet this cake didn't burn, baked perfectly and had a fudge cake texture. I baked in two round pans, which I had buttered and floured, and we're making again this weekend for our birthday party. It was also really nice to come across a recipe for a chocolate cake (with eggs, I tried eggless ones too which were really nice, on this site) not made with actual chocolate, and NOT from a PACKAGED MIX! Thanks a bunch for the recipe!! I might have to try those as cup cakes (adjusting cooking time of course) as I think they'd be FANTASTIC! Update 10 Oct 08: Made them as cupcakes and they turned out amazingly well! Had to adjust cooking time, but they were a HUGE success, piped some Decorator Frosting from this site http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Decorator-Frosting/ and they were easily transported to the party venue, the icing didn't stick to the plastic wrap at all. I'm one happy camper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia

Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States