Frying Pan Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
These are pretty good, if you use REAL rum. I tried with the rum extract and the vanilla extract, but they tasted more like imitation flavorings. So I tried the recipe using Bacardi 151 Rum, and they were exceptional!! I reccomend using REAL rum for a truely better tasting cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I have made these cookies every christmas for almost 20 years. I roll them in shredded coconut, press a thumbprint in them to hold a slice of red and green candied cherry. They look very beautiful like that on the christmas cookie platter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These are great. I combine the sugar and beaten eggs before adding them to the melted butter so the eggs don't 'fry'. Also, I add the coconut to the mixture with the cereal and roll them in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very easy and very very good. My only problem with these is how sweet they are. (With the butter, sugar, and eggs they taste quite a bit like butter tarts, and they're that sweet, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I remember making these as a child! I've looked for this recipe and could not find it, thank you! These are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We wound up nicknaming these Crisp Rice Treats for Grown-Ups because of the wonderful rum flavor (used Captain Morgan) along with the texture we remember from childhood crisp rice treats. Delicious and a pretty big hit with our cookie share who liked the unusual treat. (didn't use the coconut)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe - add a little more rice cereal(1/2 cup) added cut up cherries and used orange flavoring for a change from vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very good! I added 1/2 cup more walnuts in bigger pieces. I also added 2 tsp. vanilla and rum. Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I remember making these years ago and was glad to find the recipe on this site. They're a yummy, different cookie, especially good if you love dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Very easy to make and quite tastey, too! I took some to work and the girls loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States