Fry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
If you want this to taste more like Artic Circle you have to add buttermilk. Our Article circle used to use this 'white sauce' (fry sauce before the catsup) on it's hamburgers. If you don't have buttermilk I've heard you could use a bit of dill pickle juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
My mother worked at a Ogden, UT Blue Onion restaurant in the early 70's, so we grew up with this. It is a very simple and general condiment for lots of things in place of ketchup, mayo or similar condiments. I have always known and made it as the "Secret Sauce" because that's what mom called it. None of our friends knew about it when we moved to CA or elsewhere. We've converted a lot of people that just can't do plain ketchup any more. You can tweak the ratio to whatever your preference is...(more mayo, more ketchup or 50/50). You really can't mess it up. We've never measured it. It's great to see someone put this recipe up to share---why didn't I think of it! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I found that if you add a couple of drops of liquid smoke it tastes just like you got some wild dipping sauce from Good Times Burger. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Ketchup and Mayo alone is not Utah fry sauce. 2 parts mayo to 1 part ketchup and white vinegar. 1/8 c mayo, 1 1/2 T ketchup, 1/2t white vinegar. (The white vinegar makes it smooth and adds flavor) Thats the recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bearnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
The ingredients sound a little weird, but suprisingly enough it's deicious. I ate this on a hamburger. I haven't tried this with BBQ sauce because I enjoyed the ketchup so much. Don't think hubby would care for it...he's not a big fan of mayo. Very quick and simple. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I've been making this sauce for years, but I wasn't aware it had a name.As a matter of fact, a Utah native gave me the tip. We love it with burgers, fries, chicken, fish and on sandwiches. For a variation try tartar sauce 2 to 1 with ketchup. Its great too. Thanks Keith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
This sauce has been a favorite in New Orleans for years. Try adding (to taste) horseradish when eating boiled or fried seafood. It's awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very simple and can be adjusted to your own personal tastes. Kick it up with some tabasco or play it tame with a bit of BBQ sauce. I've had some really great french fry sauces on this site and this is a great base - probably good for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I added about an 1/8 cup of barbecue sauce (maybe a little more) to this recipe and it tasted just like the o-ring sauce from Red Robin. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Ive been making this sauce for years. Theres several variations you can use to suit your taste. I always add a small drop of mustard to give it a little spice. Also good with ranch, mayo, ketchup, and mustard. I always make this when i have fries. I add ranch or bbq sauce depending on my mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Buffalo Wing Sauce

See the secret to real Buffalo wing sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States