Fry Bread Tacos II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
We loved the fry bread but before you put your first piece in, drop a small teaspoon sized piece to test your oil. It should fry up right away but not brown to quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Use Blue Bird flour instead of all-purpose. It's easier to work with and is what all the Navajos use to make their fry bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
These tacos are so good I had to let you all know mid-bite. These are tacos of epic gnarly-ness such as the world has never before seen. I made mine with a few tweaks: Almond milk for the fry bread with just a dash of garlic and cumin powder in the mix, chorizo instead of beef, and different toppings including queso fresco, purple cabbage, red pepper. Fried in refined coconut oil, and I made depressions in the dough with a spatula during the first half of frying each shell. AMAZING. Seriously. I'm eating one right now. Insane. My 2 and 1 year olds are also devouring their tacos. Again I say, AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Mario Rumble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was okay for us. I made the dough as suggested, and thinned out the bread in the center and made a little hole in the centre of each round as well. I made this into 10 smaller fry breads based on reviews claiming these were huge--I'd make the smaller breads again, if I make this again. There was nothing wrong with the recipe, just wasn't "special" to us. The fry breads covered in sugar and cinnamon were a big hit though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Loved this and so did my family. The only thing I changed was that I added a few tablespoons of olive oil (made the dough silky and after frying came out fluffy) and about a 1/4 cup more of flour. Will definitely save this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
No one wanted seconds. It's a great fried dough recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
You get 5 stars from us. The fry bread is one of the best I've had. I only added 2 teaspoons of oil on the second batch which we really loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samjguess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylore
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I made shredded beef tacos instead and they were awesome!! So yummy everyone loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This review is mostly for the fry bread, since the taco part of the recipe isn't really a recipe (since it is using a store bought taco seasoning mix...although if you are looking for a seasoning, I suggest Taco Seasoning I from this site). Ok, so the fry bread is actually pretty good. I made this twice; as written, it yielded us 4 breads. The dough was a bit sticky, but I just added a little bit more flour, and it came together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I was leery about making my own bread. But this was super easy and tasted really good too. Shared the recipe with a friend. The family liked it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States