Fry Bread Tacos II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I love this fry bread!!! It is wonderful, I made it for breakfast and my family gobbled it up quick! I did add more flour because the dough was sticking to my hands so I just kept adding more and more until I could flatten it out without it sticking to me. For breakfast we did honey butter and powdered sugar. You could put fruit on this or whatever. Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I have never had fry bread before so I have nothing to compare it to....all I know is that this was great!!! I followed all the directions and added a little sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg into the milk. To incorporate the milk I made a hole in flour mixture and slowly mixed the milk into the flour bit by bit which made it very easy to work with...to tell you the truth these may stop me from ever using store bought bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *malissa*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I only made the fry bread from this recipe. It was excellent. Very soft and chewy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Fry Bread Tacos are my favorite way of serving tacos. I am not a fan of taco seasoning so I leave that out. In its place I add salsa to the meat after it has been drained and cook the meat until the salsa is warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These were just "OK" for me. A slight disappointment, but not terrible either. Having said this, I do think practice makes perfect. I have never been a pro at deep frying or baking, two things that certainly can't hurt to be good at when attempting this recipe. My hubs and I agree that tostadas serve the same purpose and are just as good as these - maybe even better. I'd be willing to give these another try, but would only do so if I had plenty of time to ensure a better outcome. Other than mixing my beans and meat together and adding a LOT more flour to my dough (it was too sticky to handle otherwise), I made no changes. I got exactly 4 tostada-sized fry breads out of this recipe. My hubs and I ate all of them, so unfortunately I had none left to sprinkle with cinnamon sugar for dessert. :( Depending on your appetite, 1 of these might fill you up, but we were satisfied (and full!) with 2 each. Garnished with shredded lettuce, chopped tomato & green onion, Mexican-blend cheese & guacamole, these were not bad at all. Chips, salsa and Coronas completed our casual meal. Thanks for sharing, Robyn. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Made just the fry bread for my boyfriend. He says it reminds him of his mom's. I have a feeling we will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I cant say enough about this fry bread! delicious,nice chewey texture great flavor i didny give it 5 stars only because i did add a tbs of oil to the dough i will be using this recipe alot! thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
We have a local parade/carnival every year and they have these for sale. This is the first recipe that makes the fry bread exactly the same way. Been looking for this for quite awhile. Thanks. After the bread is done, we just have all the topping layed out on the table and it is a "build it your own way" meal. Everyone is happy and full. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I'm reviewing the fry bread only. Great! Easy! Except for cleaning up the oil afterwards. =) I made the dough in 6 pieces, that was a good size for my taco. I used my Kitchenaid with the dough hook, let it go for 5 minutes, turned it off and let it sit 5 minutes, then dropped it on a floured board to cut into 6 chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Super good. I was a little nervous about the dough being sticky and difficult to kneed, but it came out perfect. It was really easy to make. In Oklahoma they are called "Indian Tacos". For the people that complain about the bread being too thick to fold into a taco. Duh, that is not how you eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States