Fry Bread Tacos II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I have to admit I totally make the taco part of this my own way, I only use this recipe for the fry bread. It's a five star recipe for that alone I think. Everyone in my family LOVES this bread even the pickiest one. We love it with tacos or even with chilli. I always make extra because we use it for dessert with cinnamon and sugar. If you top that with vanilla ice cream it tastes a lot like fried ice cream. Obviously you can tell we love this fry bread recipe. It's super simple and fool proof.Everyone always thinks I did something amazing and when I share the recipe they are amazed at how little goes into it. So definitely make the fry bread and I'd say just do the tacos your own way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I love love love this recipes and have been using the fry bread portion for years! Awesome, you do have to make sure your oil is just right...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was an amazing recipe for fry bread. I didnt follow the directions to the t the first time so I had to start from scratch. Make sure you have enough oil in your pan and cook them at a med heat. I love fry bread and this is by far the best I have had thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyedgurl2820

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Nice recipe. The only change I made was to put a little olive oil in the dough. I think next time I will add some seasonings to the fry bread. Maybe some cumin - then instead of topping with ground beef mixture use shredded beef instead. I think you could do a lot of variation with this recipe. Just don't fry the dough in shortening - I didn't have enough oil so I did half oil and half shortening and the end result was good but it left a coating of shortening on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Fry Bread= Absolutely AMAZING!!!!! I made 8 decent size breads... i cant believe how easy the dough was to make!!!! The Topping i changed to our liking. And i made 2 of the fry breads with cinnamon and sugar topped with ice cream!!!! Sooooooooo goood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStokes1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
These turned out quite well, but I've had better. I had some fabulous fry bread tacos in New Mexico and was hoping these would turn out the same. The fry bread was a little too dense for my taste; it wasn't filled with air bubbles like the authentic ones are. All in all, it was a good dinner but I'm not sure I'll use this exact recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
They were pretty good, but we were hoping for better. They were a little bland, but pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heartpockets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Oh my! I made this bread as a quick lunch to use up some leftovers in the fridge with my kids. EASY and YUMMY!! I doubled the recipe and then left some dough raw to see how much I really needed. Needless to say I had to go back and finish cooking the rest! It was great for lunch AND for dessert with whipped cream and fruit! THUMB'S UP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The fry bread was really good - especially with cinnamon and sugar as a dessert. I found it very easy to work with and made just the perfect amount for a family dinner for 2 adults and three young children (5-9). I will definitely be making some home made doughnuts out of this in the near future. The topping was a little bland, but can easily be changed to suit your family's tastes. Overall I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoonerGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
We made just the fry bread from this recipe and then made our own taco toppings. The fry bread is amazing! I don't think I'll ever make tacos any other way. Like some of the other people that commented, we put a slit down the middle of each piece, and they cooked perfectly. This will be a new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States