Fry Bread Tacos II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
We made just the fry bread from this recipe and then made our own taco toppings. The fry bread is amazing! I don't think I'll ever make tacos any other way. Like some of the other people that commented, we put a slit down the middle of each piece, and they cooked perfectly. This will be a new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
It was alright - the fried tacos were the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is an awesome recipe for fry bread. My family loved it. However I=it says that it makes enough for 4. They must mean 4 fully grown men that haven't eaten for 2 days!! I doubled the recipe because I wanted to make sure that we had enough for dessert. We had so much extra that we are having it for lunch today and I have a family of 6!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I am Native American an in my culture this is called a Indian taco, its the best thing in the world
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Yum! I didn't used ground beef but followed everything else to a "T". Very good, will be making this again. This recipe is a definite keeper for the frybread alone, the taco is like tacos always should be and that's however you like them best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I am so glad I found your recipe for fry bread. My grandma's church used to have an "elephant ears" booth at our county fair in Oregon every year. This was close to the recipe they used! They served it usually with a honey butter sauce, or some sort of local berry topping. Thank you for sharing this. It brings back fond memories of the crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside "elephant ears" I grew up eating every summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Ok, so I'm reviewing the bread, like everybody else. i was going to make the whole taco, but my plans changed. Anyways. The bread is delicious and easy to make. I haven't tried it yet for dessert, but it is good even plain, or with herbs and dipping oil. My only problem with it is that I have trouble making it flat enough. It puffs up a lot in the oil so you have to roll it out as thin as possible, and even then it seems to puff up quite a bit. Also i don't see how it could be used to wrap up a taco without breaking. It is soft, but not pliable, so I don't see how it could be used as a 'chalupa' bread. But this is just my experience. But all that said, it really is quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made these for New Years Day lunch. Everyone liked them. I rolled some of the dough in between parchment paper and it worked great. The others I rolled in between waxed paper and that didn't work so great! They stuck and were very hard to get off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Way easier than I thought it was going to be! I tried frying it without pressing down the middle first and it came out like a puffy little doughnut (I coated it in butter and sprinkled with sugar...delicious). When I fried them for dinner I depressed the middle and made them a little larger to hold more toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I love this fry bread!!! It is wonderful, I made it for breakfast and my family gobbled it up quick! I did add more flour because the dough was sticking to my hands so I just kept adding more and more until I could flatten it out without it sticking to me. For breakfast we did honey butter and powdered sugar. You could put fruit on this or whatever. Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States