Fry Bread Tacos II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is awesome!! Closest thing to Taco Bell chalupas you can have at home! I didn't use the filling part of it. I just used ground beef with Taco Bell taco seasoning and everyone made their own with sour cream, cheese, tomato, salsa, lettuce, etc. I used about 1/2 c. dough for each and rolled it very thin with a rolling pin. I fried it in my deep fryer on one side then kind of bent it in half when I flipped it. I did do what a couple people suggested and add 2 t. oil to the dough. Was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdsblondie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I just used the fry bread recipe but it was great. The only modification I made was adding about a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
really really really good! Nice treat for once or twice a year due to the deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mahlia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
These are wonderful! I really enjoyed the Fry bread and so did all the guests that I had over. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PseudoMennonite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Growing up, I truly enjoyed the fry bread my friend's mother made (they were Sioux). Everyone gobbled it down in minutes….Yummmm, great memories! I'm a novice at frying, but the first try came out pretty well. Maybe I over-floured because the bread was dense. I also prefer more salt. The next time I watched the flour (although the dough was very sticky), increased the salt by a 1/2 teaspoon, also added 2 teaspoons of sugar per my husband's request. Couldn't really taste it, so if you prefer sweeter, a Tablespoon should do it. Instead of topping the bread with the taco recipe, I made this with DeeDee’s Black Bean Vegetable soup. Added 1 extra can of black beans, cut the broth to 2 cups, increased the garlic to 3 cloves and increased the chili powder. The combination is incredible!! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is so easy! Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I thought the fry bread was really good almost like a funnel cake without the sugar. I had leftover chili that I used on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very good and tasty! I divided up the dough into 8 portions so they were easier to serve and eat. I also omitted the beans and salsa step and just threw black beans into the meat after it was browned. It's a keeper! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
These were awesome. I made them for my husband and my in-laws and everyone loved them. I had always wanted a thicker bread similiar to chalupa shells at Taco Bell and these are better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I did not use the toppings listed, but the bread was great. Easy to make, tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Dawn Poe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States