Fry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I have been wanting to make a fry bread recipe for.ev.er. My mom used to make fry bread as a breakfast treat every once in a blue moon (we lived in Alaska for a year when I was a baby, and she learned the recipe there). This recipe isn't quite how (I think) I remember the fry bread my mom made - but it is light, airy, crispy, chewy and perfect. My 16 year old ate about half the finished recipe on his own I think! We served with butter, jam, and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Mmmm, yummy. Crusty, chewy clouds of goodness. Perfect for tacos or sprinkle some cinnamon and sugar on them for a real treat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Wonderful! Not *quite* as good as Arizona state fair fry bread, but good. My in-law family called them "scones"! They all refused to put taco ingredients on top- and had dinner of scones with honey! I enjoyed them, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Love this recipe! However, I added 1 tablespoon of sugar for a little extra something. A great, tasty, and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
mmmmm....just like fried dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
My family just loves these....I have made them twice now...and they always go fast. One suggestion to everyone though, these are only good warm...so you can fry up what you need and put the rest of the dough in teh fridge for the next day to fry up.....that way they are always made fresh, but the dough is made once..... :) These are make awesome frybread for a great tex-mex dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
It's a long time before you figure the exact consistency, but once you do it's worth it and very simple. I like to add raisins or grated cheddar cheese for a different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crimson Willow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These are so easy to make and are great with a large group under the full moon over a fire vs. the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Good like Apache fry bread... except without the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always The Hostess
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
They sell Elephant Ears in MI too and those are actually funnel cakes, nothing like (Indian) Fry Bread or Sopapillas. However there is a recipe for Elephant Ears which contains yeast but is somewhat similar to Fry Bread and Sopapillas. Traditional Fry Bread Recipe Indian Fry Bread ga-do di-gv-tsa-la-nv-hi a-yv-wi-ya 3 cups flour 1 tablespoon baking powder 1/2 teaspoon salt 1 cup warm water Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add warm water in small amounts and knead dough until soft but not sticky. Adjust flour or water as needed. Cover bowl and let stand about 15 minutes. Pull off large egg-sized balls of dough and roll out into fairly thin rounds. Fry rounds in hot oil until bubbles appear on the dough, turn over and fry on the other side until golden. Serve hot. Try brushing on honey, or making into an Indian Taco. Buttermilk Fry Bread Substitute buttermilk for water. Follow the same recipe. Sopapilla's MEXICAN SOPAPILLAS 2 c. flour 3 tsp. baking powder 1/2 tsp. salt 1 tbsp. shortening Oil for deep frying Sift dry ingredients together in bowl. Cut in shortening until crumbly. Add 1/2 cup warm water gradually, stirring with fork. Dough will be crumbly. Turn onto lightly floured surface. Knead until smooth. Divide in half. Let stand for 10 minutes. Cut into 3" squares. Fry, several at a time, in deep fat at 400 degrees for 30 seconds on each side. Yield: 40 sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States