Fry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
They sell Elephant Ears in MI too and those are actually funnel cakes, nothing like (Indian) Fry Bread or Sopapillas. However there is a recipe for Elephant Ears which contains yeast but is somewhat similar to Fry Bread and Sopapillas. Traditional Fry Bread Recipe Indian Fry Bread ga-do di-gv-tsa-la-nv-hi a-yv-wi-ya 3 cups flour 1 tablespoon baking powder 1/2 teaspoon salt 1 cup warm water Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add warm water in small amounts and knead dough until soft but not sticky. Adjust flour or water as needed. Cover bowl and let stand about 15 minutes. Pull off large egg-sized balls of dough and roll out into fairly thin rounds. Fry rounds in hot oil until bubbles appear on the dough, turn over and fry on the other side until golden. Serve hot. Try brushing on honey, or making into an Indian Taco. Buttermilk Fry Bread Substitute buttermilk for water. Follow the same recipe. Sopapilla's MEXICAN SOPAPILLAS 2 c. flour 3 tsp. baking powder 1/2 tsp. salt 1 tbsp. shortening Oil for deep frying Sift dry ingredients together in bowl. Cut in shortening until crumbly. Add 1/2 cup warm water gradually, stirring with fork. Dough will be crumbly. Turn onto lightly floured surface. Knead until smooth. Divide in half. Let stand for 10 minutes. Cut into 3" squares. Fry, several at a time, in deep fat at 400 degrees for 30 seconds on each side. Yield: 40 sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
These may be okay as "Frybread," but if you are expecting to get the wonderful, puffy "sopapillas" served as dessert in New Mexico, you will be sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This is good fry bread, but sopapillas are VERY different in both Arizona and New Mexico (they are basically like a hallow pillow of dough, fry bread is flat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
This is great stuff...I had some with butter on it, then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on some also. I just fried it on both sides in a skillet with about an inch of oil...this is WAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This treat is known by different names in different areas. Here in Arizona it is known as fry bread, in New Mexico it is known as sopapillas and in Washington it is known as elephant ears. I think it should be noted that.. elephant ears and sopapillas and Fry bread are nowhere near the same thing. They all come from very different cultures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
I remember eating this wonderful bread for the first time in AZ and just loved it. This recipe was extremely close to the crispy bread I had back then. Very easy to make and very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Stack it up with taco fixings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
it did take awhile to fry it all! but it made alot & my child ate most! Very easy & very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
The kids really like this...but I thought it was too flat - I like my frybread to poof up. I also found it kind of hard to shape to any large size. But it's a good basic recipe and my kids loved helping to make it and they ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I enjoy these recipes. Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States