Fry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was a great recipe, the kids helped make it. We doubled the recipe and made Indian Taco and then drizzled honey over the few we had left. With 12 kids it's hard to find something everyone enjoys; this has become a new favorite if all. Even fussy Daddy loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Awsome and very easy. my husband is native and loves it. Make it with indian soup and i have to have the bread with it to eat it, Makes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandylynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I live in NM where there are still a lot of Natives and one of my friends gave me a recipe for fry bread that is very similar to this. The only exception is using 1tsp salt instead of 1/2tsp. Also, add the liquid, whether you use milk or water, gradually, like making biscuits, only mixing until everything is together. You're not making cake, DO NOT USE AN ELECTRIC MIXER. Knead it all together by hand and stop when its all incorporated. When you fry, make sure the oil is at least 365 degrees. When it puffs up and rises, (about 1 min) flip it in the oil for a few seconds, then remove it. The bread is a basic plain bread. Change the oil you cook it in or add herbs if you want it more 'flavorful'. Corn taco shells are very plain until you add toppings, the same goes here. Whether it be cinnamon and sugar or beef and vegi's. Same with cornbread...very plain until you modify. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This fry bread was really good. I made Indian Tacos with it. Soooo good. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Perfectly delicious and very authentic tasting! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
For my picky girl, I added Cinnamon and Sugar to make it sweet for her, and she ate it as is. Plus with a little powder sugar on top. Good dessert for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
So good! Mix the dough together slowly with nice folds, make your disks thin before frying. I think the next time I make it I will add a tablespoon of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
That's the good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
my frybread turned out super flat and hard :/ I followed the directions...but I used canola oil instead of shortening... can that really make that big of a difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Perfect for my tacos. the dough was super easy to work with, light. I used my Kitchenaid knead attachment until just pulled together. I tried pressing with hand but was easier and quicker to roll gently. Also place 3 slits in dough b4 frying. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States