Fry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I love this bread it is so good with bean soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
AMAZING!! Nothing I want to change - great snack, desert, dinner, breakfast, lunch, you name it's great! Thank you for posting this recipe, Rita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I used whole ancient flour blend; eggs; real corn only meal; Stevia for sweetness; sea salt and herbal iodine; raw milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Hinkel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Have made it many times and this recipe is spot on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I too was raised on fry bread, and this recipe reminds me of my grandmother's. I use a cup of sifted whole wheat flour in this and fry it in coconut oil. Hardly traditional I know, but it is so light and delicious. My husband loves this. Reminds him of back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gladstone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Spot on for us we enjoyed them as a base for tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was a great recipe, the kids helped make it. We doubled the recipe and made Indian Taco and then drizzled honey over the few we had left. With 12 kids it's hard to find something everyone enjoys; this has become a new favorite if all. Even fussy Daddy loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Awsome and very easy. my husband is native and loves it. Make it with indian soup and i have to have the bread with it to eat it, Makes the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandylynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I live in NM where there are still a lot of Natives and one of my friends gave me a recipe for fry bread that is very similar to this. The only exception is using 1tsp salt instead of 1/2tsp. Also, add the liquid, whether you use milk or water, gradually, like making biscuits, only mixing until everything is together. You're not making cake, DO NOT USE AN ELECTRIC MIXER. Knead it all together by hand and stop when its all incorporated. When you fry, make sure the oil is at least 365 degrees. When it puffs up and rises, (about 1 min) flip it in the oil for a few seconds, then remove it. The bread is a basic plain bread. Change the oil you cook it in or add herbs if you want it more 'flavorful'. Corn taco shells are very plain until you add toppings, the same goes here. Whether it be cinnamon and sugar or beef and vegi's. Same with cornbread...very plain until you modify. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This fry bread was really good. I made Indian Tacos with it. Soooo good. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States