Fry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
was good, tasted just like the ones we had at a community pow wow. Topped 'em with chili and taco toppings, not honey and cinnamon. No way would I use that much shortening, I just coated the bottom of a fry pan with oil- maybe 1 cup total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
after my second time making this i came to a conclusion that this is none the less a fried biscuit... the ingredients say just that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I made this 2 times and both times it came out hard and chewy,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
My grandmother taught me no measurements, but this is really close. She would use milk, if availible, but normally it was water. Also, salt to taste. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I have had fry bread all of my life, and I never once used so much shortening! You could also use a nice light oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Pretty good. It was a bit bland, even though it was fried. Also the finished bread ended up tough, which could have been my fault if I over handled the dough. We ate the bread with Taco Soup and it was good dipped in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SequoiaSkye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Yum! I was craving something from the bread/biscuit family and quick! Found this recipe and used milk instead of water and my 3 year old rubbed butter on the outsides when they were done. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunn, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a great fry bread recipe. I'm Native American, and this is almost exactly the recipe I was taught. For a nice twist, try topping it with your favorite chili and everything you'd put on tacos. It makes an amazing dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I am a young native american and make fry bread the way my grandmother taught me, with out mearsuring the ingredience. I decided to look for a recipe close to what i use, and I seen and liked this one. I made the bread according to this recipe and enjoyed the results. I only suggest that the salt be upped to 1 tsp. I prefer a little more salt. Every delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Tasty little things! I've added honey and sugar to the batter for a sweeter version & I've tried them with other spices mixed in the batter for more of a flavor to go with dinner (thyme,sage and lemon peel even powdered romano and asiago cheese). Good any way you can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States