Fry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
My 4th recipe that i tried. Not bad. Mine were a little flat. Still yummy and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Made this tonight to go with dinner and they came out great. The key is to make sure the oil is hot enough. They are great with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell Nik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This Native family loved the fried bread. We like it with a little more salt, but the taste and texture rocked!Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
My neighbors are into Native American culture, but not really into cooking, and have been asking if I can make this- now I can! I took a batch to them, and they said it's exactly what they remember from living in Arizona. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These were good, and very easy to make. I used whole wheat pastry flour to up the nutritional value somewhat (considering they're fried!) When done draining on the paper toweling, but while still warm, I drizzled butter over the top, and sprinkled a cinnamon/sugar mixture over the butter. These were wonderful served with breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This fry bread is so good. My family loves it so much we have indian tacos at least twice a month. Thank you for the recipe.I also upped the salt to a teaspoon. but the rest is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerniceV.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
On the indian reservation they make thesefor Pow Wows topped wih Chili, lettuce, tomatoes and sour cream. They make the size of a 7-8 inch paper plate. I know they put cream of tarter in them as well. I tried it this time with the recipe as stated, next time I'm gonna put equal parts cream of tarter and some sugar to sweeten them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very easy and quite tasty just as it is. I use this recipe to make some delicious Indian tacos with refried beans, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, and sour cream. My family begs me to make this dish. I personally found that over working it does make the texture chewier, however, the finished product is less greasy and easier to handle so, I purposely over knead it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a great fry bread recipe. But its not just Native North American cuisine;) Eastern Europeans eat the same thing with versions slightly modified depending on family traditions and country. I would love to see (more like eat) a fry bread showdown between one Bosnian grandmother vs. one Navajo grandmother:)Happy Eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe really lacks any flavor and why not just fry up a tube of premaid biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaplinj

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States