Fry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
just like grandma use to make yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I'm Navajo and I like using 1tsp. salt. Otherwise it's a little flat. Sometimes I'll add powdered milk or warm milk. Any true Navajo will swear only by using BlueBird Flour - comes in white linen bags. Shape into the size of a tennis ball. Flatten. Starting from the edges use your fingers to stretch into a larger circle. Shape one hand into a fist and lay dough on top. Using other hand pull and turn like making a pizza. Or if you want to cheat, use a rolling pin to do most of the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Im part Native American and we grew up with this bread. My parents have passed on and I was THRILLED to see this recipe with so many reviews. This is a very easy recipe and also reminds me of Naan (India) bread, soft and yummy. I use expeller expressed coconut oil (no coconut flavor) as it does not smell up the house with oily odor. I fry in virgin coconut oil (flavorful) if I want to sprinkle with sugar/cinnamon. Tastes like a donut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I thought this recipe was really good. I increased the salt, as other reviewers suggested and loved the flavor. Being that I've never made fry bread before, nor have I seen anyone else make it, I knew I'd have to experiment to get this to work for me. As soon as the dough came together, I split it in half so that I could experiment in small batches. You need to be careful not to overwork the dough or your bread will come out dense. Also, you want to fry at a high temperature in order to get the bread to bubble and rise. I think I might also try frying in oil rather than shortening next time because I'm hoping that will make the bread a little lighter. We used the bread as a base for pulled pork sandwiches and it was great. I will try the tacos next time. If I can get the dough to work out better next time, I'll change my rating to 5 stars, but until I work with the recipe more, I'm not sure if the density of the dough is my fault or if the recipe needs more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is the same recipe that my grandma gave me and let me tell you its amazing!!!! my daughter loves it with cinn/sugar mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Just tried it. I'm native and when I saw the recipe I didn't think it would work so I tried it. Guess what - it didn't work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
OMG I love love love this recipe!! I made homemade chili beans tonight and I was in the mood for navajo tacos... so i decided to try and make fry bread, it came out perfect!!! no more trips to the state fair to buy them once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Excellent! Appreciated suggestions in reviews for other things that can be done. We topped with a bit of honey sprinkled with a tiny bit of nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stewartville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Super simple, tasted great, exactly what I was looking for! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I have a recipe I always use. But I wanted to try something different. I don't know what I did wrong. I made two batches, that didn't turn out. The dough was really lumpy and sticky. When I tried to make a ball, it stuck to my hands, I had to use flour to get the dough off, then it was too tough. I'll stick to my old stand by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States