Fruity Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
GREAT RECIPE! IT REMINDS ME OF THE FRUIT TRIFLE THAT I MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
excellent. i used mangos instead of peaches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
I used skim milk with this recipe and let the pudding sit overnight-the filling was nice and firm the next day when I added the fruit. Very refreshing for a hot day and not too sweet-highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
These fruity tarts were big hit at our last school luncheon. We used VIP brand mini pie shells and the melted jam over brushed over the top made them look too pretty to eat, well almost. Great submission, and super easy make ahead dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I made this the day before I took it to a dinner party. The crust was soggy from the pudding. I also didn't like the cooked pudding. (I'm used to instant.) I would only go with either blueberries or raspberries, not both. There wasn't much room with the other fruits so might as well not have to buy both to only put a few pieces on. 1 c of peaches was 1 peach. 1 c kiwi slices was 2 kiwis. There is nothing wrong with this recipe, just not my preference. I was really excited about making it and both my friends and I were disappointed with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I was a little skeptical of this recipe when I read the previous reviews, but I have to say I don't know what the negative comments were about!! I made this as a dessert for my fiance on Valentine's Day, and both he and I LOVED it! The vanilla pudding had a subtle sweetness but didn't overpower with its flavor. You have to let the pudding sit for five minutes before pouring it into the pie crust -- that way the crust won't get soggy. I used a graham cracker crust, brushed it with egg whites and baked for 5 minutes at 350 degrees -- made the crust shiny and stronger. I found that four hours was the perfect time to let the pudding chill in the crust in the fridge. SO GOOD! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
We thought this would be OK ... but it's amazing! We used the same fruits as in the recipe (except no raspberries), with a graham cracker crust and pre-made pudding cups, and apricot jam for the glaze. Buying pre-made crust and pudding saved lots of time, and cutting the fruit really didn't take long at all. This is the PERFECT summertime or cookout dessert - so light tasting, and sweet enough without being overpowering. TRY THIS RECIPE! Updated to add: Be sure to only make what you'll eat right away, though, because it does NOT last in the fridge; the glaze puddles on top of the pudding, which is not very attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Excellent dessert! Be careful of amount of milk for size pudding. My package was 3 oz. so I only needed 2 C milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I really wanted to try this but couldn't get vanilla pudding mix so used vanilla pudding from this site. I also had to vary the fruit a bit. There were no peaches in my local supermarket and raspberries and blueberries were incredibly expensive so I used strawberries, kiwi and red grapes. Still looks very pretty and was a big hit. I can see this being a great standby dessert for unexpected company. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
LOVED IT!!! So simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States