Fruity Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
i think i would put the cherries in the blender and use them all up because otherwise i would be left with all of them and i don't really like them, but i love sweet and sour sauce. maybe don't put in the 1/4 cup water because you would have more liquid by blending the cherries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
It's pretty sweet! My husband enjoyed it, but I just thought it was okay. This does taste good with eggrolls, but I'm looking for maybe a recipe similar to this, but maybe use a tomato sauce or ketchup next time. (trying to duplicate a local chinese restaurants flavor) As far as the directions, I thought I messed up, but it turned out fine. I just took all 6 ingredients and combined them at the same time and cooked them on low, stirring constantly, until it turned thick. Thanks for a good start to what I was looking for! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYLU35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was easy and it makes a good amount. It was a little heavy on the cherry flavor (for us) so I may decrease this next time as well as decreasing the sugar a bit. It is sweet but as good as you'd get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was pretty good to me, much closer than anything else I've tried. The maraschino cherry juice added a little too much cherry flavor. But next time I will reduce the cherry juice to probably a tablespoon or 2. I will add a dash of soy sauce and a 1/4 tsp of MSG. I know MSG is not very 'good for you', but it really does jack up the flavor of whatever you are cooking. I will probably add 1/4 cup tomato sauce or a TBSP of tomato paste too. Thanks for the cherry juice idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sushi_lover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I had to attempt this recipe twice assuming I made the first batch incorrect. The texture never thickened, the coloring was horrible. I did not like it nor did any of the other family members in my household. To bad, really wanted a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Crowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Everyone in our house thought this sauce was O.K. and had too much cherry... my thought would be to decrease the cherry juice to about 1/3.... I probably would have had a winner then..... also someone commented that they would blend up the cherrries, yes, that's a possibility but again I think the cherry taste would be even stronger... You can always add a little more cherry juice while your cooking it... but you can't take it away....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie ...from...Saskatchewan!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruno, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Eston, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this just now as have been looking for this recipe .... i believe I would add more pineapple juice and use 1/2 the vinegar and add 1/2 cup of orange juice .... will let it sit overnight and see if this doesn't taste more like the restaurant type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
It wasn't too bad, but I was a bit shy on the pineapple juice. I tasted too much vinegar and that turned me off, but perhaps if a little less vinegar and the correct amount of everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Turner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe twice. The trick to getting it to not taste so much like cherry is to add 1/4 cup of ketchup, or a little more if you prefer. My mom worked at a chinese restaurant and is the one who told me I was missing ketchup bcuz that's hwo they made it. Also, by personal preference I used crushed pinneapple w/juice and cheeries w/the juice and pureed/liquified it together in a magic bullet. It tasted so much like the restaurant style sweet and sour once I made the few adjustments! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Braun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
My fiance and I both liked this quite a bit. I used 1/2 cup lemonade do to the fact that I didn't have pineapple juice on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ingleside, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States