Fruity Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
i think i would put the cherries in the blender and use them all up because otherwise i would be left with all of them and i don't really like them, but i love sweet and sour sauce. maybe don't put in the 1/4 cup water because you would have more liquid by blending the cherries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
It's pretty sweet! My husband enjoyed it, but I just thought it was okay. This does taste good with eggrolls, but I'm looking for maybe a recipe similar to this, but maybe use a tomato sauce or ketchup next time. (trying to duplicate a local chinese restaurants flavor) As far as the directions, I thought I messed up, but it turned out fine. I just took all 6 ingredients and combined them at the same time and cooked them on low, stirring constantly, until it turned thick. Thanks for a good start to what I was looking for! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYLU35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was easy and it makes a good amount. It was a little heavy on the cherry flavor (for us) so I may decrease this next time as well as decreasing the sugar a bit. It is sweet but as good as you'd get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was pretty good to me, much closer than anything else I've tried. The maraschino cherry juice added a little too much cherry flavor. But next time I will reduce the cherry juice to probably a tablespoon or 2. I will add a dash of soy sauce and a 1/4 tsp of MSG. I know MSG is not very 'good for you', but it really does jack up the flavor of whatever you are cooking. I will probably add 1/4 cup tomato sauce or a TBSP of tomato paste too. Thanks for the cherry juice idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sushi_lover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I had to attempt this recipe twice assuming I made the first batch incorrect. The texture never thickened, the coloring was horrible. I did not like it nor did any of the other family members in my household. To bad, really wanted a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Crowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Everyone in our house thought this sauce was O.K. and had too much cherry... my thought would be to decrease the cherry juice to about 1/3.... I probably would have had a winner then..... also someone commented that they would blend up the cherrries, yes, that's a possibility but again I think the cherry taste would be even stronger... You can always add a little more cherry juice while your cooking it... but you can't take it away....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie ...from...Saskatchewan!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruno, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Eston, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this just now as have been looking for this recipe .... i believe I would add more pineapple juice and use 1/2 the vinegar and add 1/2 cup of orange juice .... will let it sit overnight and see if this doesn't taste more like the restaurant type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
It wasn't too bad, but I was a bit shy on the pineapple juice. I tasted too much vinegar and that turned me off, but perhaps if a little less vinegar and the correct amount of everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Turner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe twice. The trick to getting it to not taste so much like cherry is to add 1/4 cup of ketchup, or a little more if you prefer. My mom worked at a chinese restaurant and is the one who told me I was missing ketchup bcuz that's hwo they made it. Also, by personal preference I used crushed pinneapple w/juice and cheeries w/the juice and pureed/liquified it together in a magic bullet. It tasted so much like the restaurant style sweet and sour once I made the few adjustments! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Braun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
My fiance and I both liked this quite a bit. I used 1/2 cup lemonade do to the fact that I didn't have pineapple juice on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ingleside, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States