Fruity Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Quick, easy and the perfect combo of sweet and sour. We served it with pork roast, rice and veggies. Plan on making it again soon with wontons and rangoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
With the addition of ketchup and less cherry juice this sauce hits it right on the money! Tastes just like my favorite restaurant's sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
After doing some research online, I decided to give this recipe a try. I was terrified of the cherry juice. I made this just as written, and it tasted just like a sweet n sour cherry juice. I added the 1/4 c ketchup, as suggested, and it didn't help. I then decided to add a T or so of soy sauce, and although it was slightly better, i will not be making this again. I like cherries, but not in this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Sparkler, I think you are my new best friend. I am a sweet and sour fanatic, and have always always ALWAYS wanted a recipe that was restaurant quality, and this is definitely it! All I ever did differently was replace 2 tbsp cherry juice with 2 tbsp ketchup. I think I've made this 20 times or so, and now my whole family won't even go out for chinese anymore, they call me instead! By the way, no matter what you do, DO NOT FORGET TO COMBINE THE CORNSTARCH AND WATER!!! You will end up with a runny sauce with little white chunks of cornstarch in it. LOL Still tastes good, just the presentation goes out the window, and there's nothing quite like a lumpy sauce to make people nervous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I have to agree with starr2be2. My mom has owned a Chinese restaurant for 20 years and when I made this I knew it was missing ketchup. She makes gallons of it at a time and getting her to give me a recipe is difficult so I tried to copy the taste. After I put ketchup in it it was MUCH better. I think it needs ginger as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
yummy, yum, yum, Simple, sweet, & nearly perfect. I double the ingredients and let the sauce simmer for about 30 minutes. After cooling in my refrigerator over-night its come out almost ideal. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
My fiance and I both liked this quite a bit. I used 1/2 cup lemonade do to the fact that I didn't have pineapple juice on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ingleside, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe twice. The trick to getting it to not taste so much like cherry is to add 1/4 cup of ketchup, or a little more if you prefer. My mom worked at a chinese restaurant and is the one who told me I was missing ketchup bcuz that's hwo they made it. Also, by personal preference I used crushed pinneapple w/juice and cheeries w/the juice and pureed/liquified it together in a magic bullet. It tasted so much like the restaurant style sweet and sour once I made the few adjustments! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Braun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
It wasn't too bad, but I was a bit shy on the pineapple juice. I tasted too much vinegar and that turned me off, but perhaps if a little less vinegar and the correct amount of everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Turner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this just now as have been looking for this recipe .... i believe I would add more pineapple juice and use 1/2 the vinegar and add 1/2 cup of orange juice .... will let it sit overnight and see if this doesn't taste more like the restaurant type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States