Fruity Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I give four stars because I think it is a must to read the other reviews and alter slightly. I took the 1/2 cup of cherry juice and split it into 1/4 cup cherry juice and 1/4 cup ketchup other than that I kept it all the same. When tasting on a single piece of tempura chicken I thought that it may be slightly on the chery side but decided to leave it and see how it all blended as well as if the kids liked it. And what a wonderful result. My 4yr old has eaten enough that I don't think she will ask for any dessert LOL. And trust me that is saying something! So here's my thanks for the recipe and the suggestions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
To keep things simple I replaced the 1/2 cup of cherry juice and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice with a 1/2 cup of fruit punch. I used a brand called Purity. It is made from pineapple, cherry, and orange juice and an apricot puree. I also added a dash of garlic, onion, and ginger powder and soy sauce. Also, I added about a 1/4 of ketchup. It worked so well I'm convinced this is what they use at Chinese buffets. 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Loved it !!! Perfect just the way it was printed. My new favorite sweet and sour sauce. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHISPERIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is a great recipe. Whether you like more or less cherry juice, just adjust it. The ketchup is a good idea but a scant 1/4 cup is enough or you will lose the glassy clear look of the sauce. The sauce is definitely like a restaurant sweet and sour sauce. I did have a recipe like this one once before but I lost it; however I think this one is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cologne, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I would add more sour (vinegar and pineapple juice). I also added the ketchup. I also had to substitute flour and tapioca for the cornstarch because I was out (bummer!). Very good - taste as and modify as you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
It was very good. I put it over my meatloaf and really did enjoy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Perfection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
wow!! Loved it. won't change a thing next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I thought I had purchased a can of pineapple juice at the store but was mistaken, I tried it with 1/3 of a cup of orange juice instead. The orange juice made it a little too sweet, and over powered the flavor a bit but all the other notes tasted dead on. I did the 1/4 cup ketchup variation and was pleased with that decision. I'm excited to try it again with the proper 1/4 cup of pineapple juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I did cut back on the marachino cherry juice and subst. ketchup for color...this was by far the best sweet and sour recipe I've found so far. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States