Fruity Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
To keep things simple I replaced the 1/2 cup of cherry juice and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice with a 1/2 cup of fruit punch. I used a brand called Purity. It is made from pineapple, cherry, and orange juice and an apricot puree. I also added a dash of garlic, onion, and ginger powder and soy sauce. Also, I added about a 1/4 of ketchup. It worked so well I'm convinced this is what they use at Chinese buffets. 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Loved it !!! Perfect just the way it was printed. My new favorite sweet and sour sauce. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHISPERIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is a great recipe. Whether you like more or less cherry juice, just adjust it. The ketchup is a good idea but a scant 1/4 cup is enough or you will lose the glassy clear look of the sauce. The sauce is definitely like a restaurant sweet and sour sauce. I did have a recipe like this one once before but I lost it; however I think this one is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cologne, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I would add more sour (vinegar and pineapple juice). I also added the ketchup. I also had to substitute flour and tapioca for the cornstarch because I was out (bummer!). Very good - taste as and modify as you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
It was very good. I put it over my meatloaf and really did enjoy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Perfection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
wow!! Loved it. won't change a thing next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I thought I had purchased a can of pineapple juice at the store but was mistaken, I tried it with 1/3 of a cup of orange juice instead. The orange juice made it a little too sweet, and over powered the flavor a bit but all the other notes tasted dead on. I did the 1/4 cup ketchup variation and was pleased with that decision. I'm excited to try it again with the proper 1/4 cup of pineapple juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I did cut back on the marachino cherry juice and subst. ketchup for color...this was by far the best sweet and sour recipe I've found so far. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I love this!! I needed a sweet & sour sauce for homemade crab rangoon, and this was perfect. As suggested, I tweeked the amounts of marachino juice and vinegar until it suited my family. I will never pay for 'extra' sweet and sour sauce at a restaurant so I have some at home again, and I haven't found one in the stores at all that tstes good. I was surprised to find marachino cherry juice by the bottle, look for it in the drink mixers aisle. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYDP464

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States