Fruity Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I added the quarter cup ketchup. 'Used Dole pineapple juice & it was a li'l bit too pineapply. :D Oh, I used rice wine vinegar instead of one more tart. Maybe it was a combo of the two. It was easy; did the trick; but sweet & sour girl didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Thought it needed some tang, so I added 2 T Ketchup. Didn't have the maraschino cherry juice so I made my own using 1/3 c water, 1/4 c white sugar, 2 T corn syrup, 1 t almond extract, and 3 drops red food coloring. This sauce was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this tonight with a little cranberry juice in place of the cherry juice. I also added chunks of pineapple. Super easy and yummy. My kids found it slightly tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I needed a sweet and sour sauce for egg rolls and this was very good and easy to fix. My son's brother-in-law ate with us and he liked it and he doesn't even LIKE s/s sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is just like what is served in many Maine Chinese restaurants. For those that rated it lower, this recipe is not the ketchup sweet and sour sauce. Personally, I think adding ketchup to sweet and sour sauce makes it taste too much like McDonald's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I didn't think it was possible for me to make this. But it tastes exactly like the sweet and sour sauce they have in my favorite chinese restaurant. My husband loved it as well too. This is definitely going to be made in our household again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just now made this delicious sauce! Can't believe how simple it was to make. Now I am wondering why I wasted so much money by purchasing sauce before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I didn't have any Maraschino cherries so I used a cuplet of sugarfree cherry jello. It worked just fine. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I am diabetic. I took the tip from others and used 1/4 cup of ketchup. The sauce is perfect. This is by far the best sweet and sour sauce that I have ever made. My thanks to Miss Sparkle. Johnny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Absolutely what I was looking for! The right color, the perfect texture, and a great taste. The recipes with tomatoe or ketchup is not the real stuff, Try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
First of all i would like to thank you SPARKLER8666 you have made my year, I have been looking for a delicious sweet and sauce for my homemade rangoon, and this recipe have surpassed my expectations. Very, very, very good...the only tweak: I didn't have any vinegar so i used apple cider vinegar. and i would cut the cherry juice down to 1/4 cup, but otherwise wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States