Fruity Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this tonight with a little cranberry juice in place of the cherry juice. I also added chunks of pineapple. Super easy and yummy. My kids found it slightly tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I needed a sweet and sour sauce for egg rolls and this was very good and easy to fix. My son's brother-in-law ate with us and he liked it and he doesn't even LIKE s/s sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is just like what is served in many Maine Chinese restaurants. For those that rated it lower, this recipe is not the ketchup sweet and sour sauce. Personally, I think adding ketchup to sweet and sour sauce makes it taste too much like McDonald's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I didn't think it was possible for me to make this. But it tastes exactly like the sweet and sour sauce they have in my favorite chinese restaurant. My husband loved it as well too. This is definitely going to be made in our household again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just now made this delicious sauce! Can't believe how simple it was to make. Now I am wondering why I wasted so much money by purchasing sauce before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I didn't have any Maraschino cherries so I used a cuplet of sugarfree cherry jello. It worked just fine. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I am diabetic. I took the tip from others and used 1/4 cup of ketchup. The sauce is perfect. This is by far the best sweet and sour sauce that I have ever made. My thanks to Miss Sparkle. Johnny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Absolutely what I was looking for! The right color, the perfect texture, and a great taste. The recipes with tomatoe or ketchup is not the real stuff, Try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
First of all i would like to thank you SPARKLER8666 you have made my year, I have been looking for a delicious sweet and sauce for my homemade rangoon, and this recipe have surpassed my expectations. Very, very, very good...the only tweak: I didn't have any vinegar so i used apple cider vinegar. and i would cut the cherry juice down to 1/4 cup, but otherwise wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
YUM, YUM, YUM ?! This recipe is FANTASTIC!!! I made it for a huge Lua Party last weekend with Crab Rangoon. The sauce was "out of this world." Some recipes I'm seeing calls for adding tomato past . This is top-notch restaurant style Sweet & Sour sauce. I DID tweak mine some by adding a 1/4 up more pinapple juice and only a quarter cut of cherry juice. I also used apple cider vinegar not distilled white venegar (added more fruitness and twang). It wasn't as beautifully red, but more pink in color. However, it was to die for. I will add some red food coloring next time. Everyone loved it. It's a KEEPER! I'll use this for Sweet & Sour Chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I give four stars because I think it is a must to read the other reviews and alter slightly. I took the 1/2 cup of cherry juice and split it into 1/4 cup cherry juice and 1/4 cup ketchup other than that I kept it all the same. When tasting on a single piece of tempura chicken I thought that it may be slightly on the chery side but decided to leave it and see how it all blended as well as if the kids liked it. And what a wonderful result. My 4yr old has eaten enough that I don't think she will ask for any dessert LOL. And trust me that is saying something! So here's my thanks for the recipe and the suggestions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States