Fruity Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Instead of the different types of fruits, I used 1 3/4 cups of chopped dried apricots. Absolutely delicious even though I made the mistake of adding them before the 15 minute stir/cook instead of after. I'm gonna make these all the time now! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Fantastic granola bars, and fairly easy to make. I suggest that you flatten in into the pan ASAP when it's finished cooking, otherwise they end up falling apart at the drop of a hat. I've made it with various combinations of dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annee
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe! I uploaded the picture of the bars prior to cutting them. I am a "clean" eater so I, of course, made some modifications. Instead of butter I used Smart Balance Light, I swapped the honey for agave nectar and the brown sugar for sugar in the raw. I also added 1/2 cup of flax meal and only used dried cherries and cranberries because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Jackpot. Exactly what i was looking for...something to grab in the morning and take to school that will be nutritious and tasty. I also substituted 1/4 c. molasses for 1/4c. honey and added other nuts (flax seed, sunflower seeds) and different dried fruits (dates and prunes were on hand). Next time I will only use 1/2 c. brown sugar to make a little less sweet. Had no problem getting them to stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Yummy!! I wanted more nuts and didn't have the dried fruit except for raisins so I added sunflower seeds, walnuts and flax seed. I put a dash of cinnamon in too. Wow, easy to make, I put them in the fridge and they stick together just fine. Better than the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
These are amazingly delicious granola bars although they are more like a dessert than a snack. If I could figure out how to make them healthier I would make them again in an instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I modified these alot, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 molassess, so its not as sweet. Then 2 cups oats, 1 cup sliced almonds, 1/2 cup wheat bran, 1/2 cup flaxseed, 1/2 cup raw sunflower seed, 1/2 cup textured veggie protein, 1 cup dried goji, 1/2 cup craisins. definitely simmer longer to help get tehm to stick together. easy to make and proabbly even btter with more practise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
We played around with this from the start, used dried pinapple, coconut, macadamia nuts and dried appricots. Replaced sesame seeds with sunflower seeds. A tad too sweet due to the pineapple being sweetened. Wouldn't do that again. Also cut portions in half as calories were too high for one serving and twelve bars were HUGE. Looking forward to playing with it some more. But a good basis for certain. Chewey, not hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I felt like the water made them not hold together at all, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I am on a gluten-free diet so I used GF oats. I pretty much stuck to the recipe, except I substituted Corn Syrup for the honey, only because I didn't have enough honey on hand. I added toasted coconut, left out the wheat germ (can't have it) increased the sesame seeds, and added sunflower seeds. Used Craisens and raisens and almond slices. They are still cooling, but I snitched a bite and they taste great. Not sure if they're going to stick together properly, but they're just for me, so I'm not terribly concerned. (Hubby can have some, too, if he likes! LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2dans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States