Fruity Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Fantastic granola bars, and fairly easy to make. I suggest that you flatten in into the pan ASAP when it's finished cooking, otherwise they end up falling apart at the drop of a hat. I've made it with various combinations of dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
We really enjoyed this recipe....as granola. I couldn't get the bars to stay together, so I just dumped it all into a Tupperware canister and used it as cereal in the morning. It had a great flavor (I used dried cranberries instead of the cherries and dates, and I added walnuts). I've made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINIVANMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I modified these alot, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 molassess, so its not as sweet. Then 2 cups oats, 1 cup sliced almonds, 1/2 cup wheat bran, 1/2 cup flaxseed, 1/2 cup raw sunflower seed, 1/2 cup textured veggie protein, 1 cup dried goji, 1/2 cup craisins. definitely simmer longer to help get tehm to stick together. easy to make and proabbly even btter with more practise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
WAY TOO SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
These tasted good. They taste healthy. I had a hard time guadging doneness. First batch was underdone and chewy (I preferred them this way), they were also very crumbly and didn't "serve" well. The next batch I cooked longer, hoping for a crisper bar that served nicely. They were a little too crispy, but still okay. It was fun to try, not the conventional way to make a cookie/bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annee
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe! I uploaded the picture of the bars prior to cutting them. I am a "clean" eater so I, of course, made some modifications. Instead of butter I used Smart Balance Light, I swapped the honey for agave nectar and the brown sugar for sugar in the raw. I also added 1/2 cup of flax meal and only used dried cherries and cranberries because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
These are pretty good. My 5 yr.old was able to help make them and he seems to like them, and that was what I was going for. The only thing that I would change is to use less wheat germ next time. They taste very "germy" to me. I also added some flax seed along with the sesame seeds, which were toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I am on a gluten-free diet so I used GF oats. I pretty much stuck to the recipe, except I substituted Corn Syrup for the honey, only because I didn't have enough honey on hand. I added toasted coconut, left out the wheat germ (can't have it) increased the sesame seeds, and added sunflower seeds. Used Craisens and raisens and almond slices. They are still cooling, but I snitched a bite and they taste great. Not sure if they're going to stick together properly, but they're just for me, so I'm not terribly concerned. (Hubby can have some, too, if he likes! LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2dans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
These are amazingly delicious granola bars although they are more like a dessert than a snack. If I could figure out how to make them healthier I would make them again in an instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Jackpot. Exactly what i was looking for...something to grab in the morning and take to school that will be nutritious and tasty. I also substituted 1/4 c. molasses for 1/4c. honey and added other nuts (flax seed, sunflower seeds) and different dried fruits (dates and prunes were on hand). Next time I will only use 1/2 c. brown sugar to make a little less sweet. Had no problem getting them to stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States