Fruity Fun Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
We made these for our daughter's birthday party, and they were a huge hit. Very colorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
A great portable way to carry fruit on a picnic. I used cantaloupe, pineapple, kiwi, grapes and strawberries, so no problems with fruit pieces turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Refreshingly different appetizer amongst the usual dips and spreads. I used a variety of summer fruits as shown in one of the photos: kiwi, pineapple, cantaloupe and strawberries. I served these with "Big Mama's Fruit Dip" from this site, but most everyone ate them without. So pretty, and one of the unusual good-for-you additions to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
It's kinda funny that people are calling this a "recipe" and haven't heard of this idea before. But, whatever. I like serving fruit this way, too, and have done it for many years. Just wanted to pass on another tip that works really well to keep apples from browning. After you slice or cut them into chunks, cover them with pineapple juice in a glass container. They stay fresh and white in the fridge for several days. And you don't notice any pineapple flavor when you take them out of the juice ... they just taste really, really fresh. It could work for bananas, too, but only for a very short time, as they break down and get mushy pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by margiejo
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I make these for a potluck and add marshmallows for the children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These are the best and always a hit at parties! They are so easy to make and fun to eat. I use a combination of strawberries, cantaloupe, honeydew melon, pineapple, and grapes. You can use any combination of fruit that you like. I serve them with "Fruit Dip I" from this site and people gobble these up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Well, we changed the fruit a little (we used strawberries, kiwi, watermelon, mango and pineapple), but it doesn't matter, as long as the fruit is ripe and in season, these are wonderful. They look sooooo pretty and the kids love them just as much as the adults. These are a real crowd pleaser! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I also display the skewers in a purple cabbage that's been flattened to stand firmly. To prevent fruit from turning brown (apples, bananas...), try cutting them with a ceramic blade. The ceramic prevents them from turning brown and they'll look good for several hours, if they last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
So yummy! made then for my daughters 2nd b-day party and were a total HIT!!! I did I used catalope, pineapples, strawberrys and grapes I put them in the freezer for about 20 min and let them get really cold yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Rosario
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These are really beautiful. We used Pineapple, Kiwi, Strawberries, Grapes and Cantaloupe (no banana or apples).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States