Fruity Fun Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I make these to sell in the concession stand at our summer swim meets and we always sell out and have folks asking for more. I try to choose fruits that will not brown if they are prepared ahead of time. My usual combo is cantaloupe, honeydew, pineapple (either fresh or canned chunks), strawberries, & red grapes. But there are lots of great choices that work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
We made these for a wedding shower. We took a cabbage and sliced a small piece off the side to make a flat side. Then we laid it down in a basket. We poked the fruit skewers into the cabbage so that it looked like a flower arrangement of fruit. We used blueberrys, strawberrys, melon, pineapple, and grapes. We even cut the pineapple in star/flower shapes. It was a beautiful display.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
406 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I have done this myself several times - it works great to serve fruit and fruit dip at gatherings. Place the skewers on a fancy platter with fruit dip in rim sugared margarita glasses and it looks quite elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
We made a recipe similar to this for my daughter's bridal shower. We put the skewers into a decorative flower pot (supported by styrofoam disc in pot). Looked fantastic! So many compliments. We served cinnamon fruit dip on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was alot of fun to do with my kids! We made an assembley line and we each had to skewer on the fruit! We called it Rainbow Fruit Skewers! I had to help my 2nd youngest to pierce through the pineapple. We used Kiwi, pineapple, canteloupe, strawberries and grapes. I served it with a mixed berry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Fruit skewers make an excellent addition to parties, BBQs, wedding receptions, brunches, etc. I feel the whole reason for displaying fruit pieces on a skewer is to make a beautiful display. I don't believe they can be visually enjoyed laying flat on a serving platter. Instead, why not try using a watermelon as a "basket" in which to stand the skewers up to be enjoyed. Cut the melon in half, be sure to cut a flat surface on the bottom so it can sit straight, then stick your colorful skewers of fruit into the watermelon rind so that it resembles a basket of flowers. It makes a beautiful and inexpensive centerpiece for your buffet or serving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I hope this is allowed - but a for serving suggestion/ideas take a look at the website for edible arrangements. Same idea there, but MUCH more expensive than doing it yourself like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Lenser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
OMG! I would love to try that receipe when I leave high school and try that at any party. It looks delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These are a great way to serve fruit at parties, and the kids always eat them up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Great idea. Easy to make and a fun way to serve fruit at a picnic or bbq. I would not include bananas, as they turn brown by the time you arrive at the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States