Fruity Curried Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
interesting change... good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I had red quinoa and red lentils in my pantry; what to do? This fit the bill; vegan protein item that can be served hot or cold, with a salad (as pictured) or with a naan and a lassi. Even my picky husband liked it, and he has the tastebuds of a 12 year old boy. I used a veggie broth base instead of water (no pineapple at all) and added golden raisins with the coconut, as another person suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
We used chick peas rather than lentils (what we had in the pantry). We also substituted broth rather than water for the quinoa. The family (toddlers included)really enjoyed! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made this as a side dish for baked coconut shrimp. I wish I would have put more pineapple and pecans in it. I used garam masala powder and so it turned out pretty sweet. Overall, its an excellent dish. Also, I added some coconut oil before I served it and it made it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rock_salt
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I don't like to rate a recipe that I changed, but there doesn't seem to be any way around it. I cooked 1/2 cup of lentils in 1c. p/a juice/water and spices as called for. Then added 2 c. cooked quinoa, 1/2 c sweetened coconut, 1/3 chopped pecans and about 1 c crushed pineapple. I liked the sweet with the curry. Tomorrow I will try it cold with leftover chicken, and the onion I forgot to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I really did not care for this dish- I didn't like the pineapple and the curry flavor together- I would of added mango instead of the pineapple- back beans instead of the lentils and added a lime vinegrette instead of the curry powder- I found it really hard to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I did not care for this dish hot. My husband liked it alot and the kids ate enough for me to know that they neither loved it or hated it. I did like this a lot better when it was cold and that was unanimous through my house. Despite the average rating, I will make this again but next time I will add some golden raisins. I think that this addition could actually bring it up at least one star and maybe even up to five. For whatever reason, despite the pineapple and pecans, this needs a contrasting flavor because it had a flat curry flavor and not enough depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I used sweetened coconut, and added mango - amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Mateja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I used fresh pineapple instead of the canned, wild onions instead of the red onion, and had to omit the coconut. I cooked the quinoa and lentils up in water while I cut up the pineapple. Great taste combinations and great visual appeal. This is a salad that I'll serve often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States