Fruity Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I was so skeptical about this recipe. I am usually all about fresh fruit so I just didn't see how dried fruit and cumin was going to taste good. I am so glad I tried it, it tastes great! I wasn't able to find dried apricots so i used dried peaches and I used white grape raisins. The colours weren't as pretty but I loved it. I also squeezed an orange on top to moisten it. This is quick and easy, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is an awesome dish! It's different - it's sweet and it's got that onion, too! I love this in the summer when I need a cold salad that everyone hasn't had before! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I've made this numerous times and it's always really good. Sometimes I also mix in raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDACENC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very delicious and amazingly easy recipe! I love cashews so I used them instead of almonds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jakobstad, Pohjanmaa, Finland
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was delicious! However, it did require a bit of tweaking. I took the advice of previous reviewers and added OJ. Great tip! I also substituted golden raisins for the craisins, and I used malayta apricots instead of the traditional ones. I added a bit of cinnamon and a can of chick peas as well. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCCI013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
A wonderful, flexible recipe that has been a hit everywhere I've taken it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was my first time making or eating couscous. I thought it was good, but if I were to make it again I would cut the addition of the cumin and onions in half. They were just a bit too overwhelming for me. Also, it tasted a LOT better the next day after all the flavors got to get friendly in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This salad was just OK. I substituted the water with orange juice. It was very dry, and I had to add so much extra orange juice that it overpowered all the other flavors. I probably won't rush to make it again, but if I do, I would recommend using the recommended amount of water, and THEN adding 1/2 to 1 cup of orange juice beyond the amount of liquid that the recipe calls for to get a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Went well with our meal and tasted good... wanted more "kick" out of it... maybe more scallions or some garlic salt???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Very easy. I made it with chopped dates, apricots, and raisins. Didn't add the scallions, but I'm sure it'd be delicious with them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States