Fruity Cookie Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
These are good and make a nice extra added color to your cookie tray. I prefer black cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Haner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My mom used this recipe for years before I saw it here. She always used starwberry, and I never thought that the 3 oz. did the flavor any justice. Now that it is my turn for this recipe, I mix everything together except the gelatin. I split the whole batch three ways and use half a package of lemon, orange, and strawberry gelatin, adding a touch of lukewarm tap water. Before baking, I sprinkle a little gelatin on top. They come out with a bang of fruit flavor and wonderful coloring, and there's enough for two batches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
We tried and tried to make this recipe work, after 4 attempts we gave up. The flavor was just off and the texture was a nightmare in the press. It's just not worth trying to work through a flawed recipe...KEEP LOOKING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I have used this exact recipe for years. This year I used the changes some of you suggested, and I had a flatter more spread out cookie. I prefer the original, but my press is an electric Wilton, so it is not difficult for me to press the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Will not make these cookies again. I baked the first batch for the time stated and the bottoms of the cookies were almost black. I adjusted the time to only 8 minutes and baked until just set but not browned. They aren't a bad cookie, but not a real good one either. The flavor wasn't all that great. Not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I give this recipe three stars for creativity. It is worth making, but not according to the given directions. I took this recipe and used 3 1/4 C flour, added 1/4 C butter and added an extra egg. They then pressed well and baked well, and had a nice mild flavor. Don't overbake them though. 8 minutes is all you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
I used orange flavored Jello. I think they may be better with lemon flavor. They were stubborn about releasing from the cookie press, and I finally gave up and used a cookie cutter, instead. My daughter thought the flavor of these cookies was reminiscent of Fruit Loop cereal. I’ll give them one more try, as I like to have a variety of cookies in the holiday cookie jar, but I might try icing them instead of sprinkling them with the Jello powder. Not bad, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Way too much flour, most of my cookie press designs would not work with such a thick dough, and I actually bruised my thumbs, trying to press these out. I looke at my other cookie press recipies and most call for about 2 to 2 1/2 cups flour NOT 4 CUPS. I will try these again with less flour. Revised on 12-24-03: I made these again today and they turned out great. I used black cherry jello and increased the butter to 2 cups and added another egg. I kept flour the same. All the cookie press shapes turned out. I only baked for about 6 and a half minutes and they turned nice and golden brown on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This cookie not only tasted good, had a good texture, but they are fun and easy to make. You can adjust the amount of flour to suit your tastes and you can have so many different flavors. Black Cherry and Lime are my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHfromNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I made these cookies and they had no taste at all. I don't know why? But nobody even touched them after the first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oxford, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States