Fruity Cookie Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I remember my Mom making these cookies when I was growing up. I made the mistake of following some of the other reviewers suggestions and they turned out crappy. The second time I made these I followed the recipe (I used butter instead of margarine)and they turned out perfect. I did bake them at 400 and I took them out at 6 minutes and they were perfect doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dandylynes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
i cut the flour back t 3.5 cups. still the dough jammed up my bon jour cookie press which is battery operated. it simply couldn't handle this stiff dough. so i rolled it and cut it w a darling holly leaf cookie cutter and dusted it w lime jello and red sugar. so cute but utterly inedible. rolling the dough made it tough. a total waste of ingredients. won't do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
this recipe has also been in my family since before I can actually remember. My mother made them every christmas. I'm not sure what the other reviewers are talking about, my recipe also calls for 4 cups of flour. I usually add about 3.5 cups and then more as needed. If you add food coloring to intensify the color, you'll need a little more flour. I also often add zest and some juice for citrus flavors and this needs a little more flour also. The dough should be the consistency of stiff frosting when placing it in the cookie gun/press. I always use baking margerine as the low fat stuff turns out awful! One batch makes 6-8 dozen cookies. The only problem is getting rid of them all if you make more than one flavor/color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
These were wonderful! I followed some of the suggested changes, a little more flour, gelatin and margarine. I did not find the dough too hard to get out of my cookie press, rather the opposite, my dough was very soft. Also, I did not feel the need to sprinkle gelatin on top, probably just my preference but I did top with a sprinkle of powdered sugar. I can't wait to take these to work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is the second year I've made these and I think they're so cute! I did have to change the temp and time though. Maybe it's just my oven but at 400 degrees for 12 minutes they would be beyond burnt. I dropped down to 350 for about 7-8 minutes and that worked for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Edible but not good. I made these with black cherry jello mix. I burnt the first batch baking at 400 for 10 minutes. The time that ended up working was 350 for 8 minutes. There was barely any flavor, so in the end I dabbed on some cherry extract after they were baked. I think I am going to have to dip these in chocolate to even make them worth eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
We made this recipe several times. First time too dry, so added some cream to soften it. Then they burned, so reduced time to 8 minutes and they were ok, held shape, but still browning to fast. We made them again, adusted the flour, still too dry, more cream. Baked at a lower temp. (350 degrees) for about 13 minutes, cookies only spread a little. Better results. Third attempt, 3 cups of flour, much better, but will probably adjust temp. and time next batch. The flavor depends greatly on the flavor of jello you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I got my cookie press today in the mail and jumped on the chance to try this recipe! It is great! Was quick and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was a GREAT recipe, I used the suggested changes from the message board. I used 2 cups margarine, 2 eggs and 4oz of jello for the cookies (boosts the flavor) & 2 oz for sprinkling. They turned out wonderful and after putting them in an airtight container have remained soft and delicious for 2 days. My kids & I can't wait to try other flavours (we used Orange)! Thanks for the recipe and the tips everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These cookies were awesome! I only used 3 cups of flour and changed butter to 2 cups. I put the dough in the fridge for 1 hour and rolled them to cut out shamrocks for St Patrick's Day. I used the lime flavored gelatin powder which gave it the green color. Perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilonka Gangadin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States