Fruity Cookie Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
i cut the flour back t 3.5 cups. still the dough jammed up my bon jour cookie press which is battery operated. it simply couldn't handle this stiff dough. so i rolled it and cut it w a darling holly leaf cookie cutter and dusted it w lime jello and red sugar. so cute but utterly inedible. rolling the dough made it tough. a total waste of ingredients. won't do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
this recipe has also been in my family since before I can actually remember. My mother made them every christmas. I'm not sure what the other reviewers are talking about, my recipe also calls for 4 cups of flour. I usually add about 3.5 cups and then more as needed. If you add food coloring to intensify the color, you'll need a little more flour. I also often add zest and some juice for citrus flavors and this needs a little more flour also. The dough should be the consistency of stiff frosting when placing it in the cookie gun/press. I always use baking margerine as the low fat stuff turns out awful! One batch makes 6-8 dozen cookies. The only problem is getting rid of them all if you make more than one flavor/color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
These were wonderful! I followed some of the suggested changes, a little more flour, gelatin and margarine. I did not find the dough too hard to get out of my cookie press, rather the opposite, my dough was very soft. Also, I did not feel the need to sprinkle gelatin on top, probably just my preference but I did top with a sprinkle of powdered sugar. I can't wait to take these to work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is the second year I've made these and I think they're so cute! I did have to change the temp and time though. Maybe it's just my oven but at 400 degrees for 12 minutes they would be beyond burnt. I dropped down to 350 for about 7-8 minutes and that worked for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Edible but not good. I made these with black cherry jello mix. I burnt the first batch baking at 400 for 10 minutes. The time that ended up working was 350 for 8 minutes. There was barely any flavor, so in the end I dabbed on some cherry extract after they were baked. I think I am going to have to dip these in chocolate to even make them worth eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
We made this recipe several times. First time too dry, so added some cream to soften it. Then they burned, so reduced time to 8 minutes and they were ok, held shape, but still browning to fast. We made them again, adusted the flour, still too dry, more cream. Baked at a lower temp. (350 degrees) for about 13 minutes, cookies only spread a little. Better results. Third attempt, 3 cups of flour, much better, but will probably adjust temp. and time next batch. The flavor depends greatly on the flavor of jello you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I got my cookie press today in the mail and jumped on the chance to try this recipe! It is great! Was quick and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was a GREAT recipe, I used the suggested changes from the message board. I used 2 cups margarine, 2 eggs and 4oz of jello for the cookies (boosts the flavor) & 2 oz for sprinkling. They turned out wonderful and after putting them in an airtight container have remained soft and delicious for 2 days. My kids & I can't wait to try other flavours (we used Orange)! Thanks for the recipe and the tips everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These cookies were awesome! I only used 3 cups of flour and changed butter to 2 cups. I put the dough in the fridge for 1 hour and rolled them to cut out shamrocks for St Patrick's Day. I used the lime flavored gelatin powder which gave it the green color. Perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilonka Gangadin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
this is just like I remember from when I was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States