Fruity Cookie Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
The first time I made this recipe I used orange jello. The cookies tasted good but I was unable to put them through my cookie press. I used 3.5 cups of flour because the other reviews said the extra flour messed up the dough. I don't make a ton of cookies and have never used a cookie press before now. I looked up how to use it and found out my cookie press only worked on a certain type of dough. I just rolled the dough into balls and it took about 16 minutes to cook. Not the best cookies I've ever had but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
The first time I tried this using other recommendations in the reviews, it didn't work at all. The only change I did was use unsalted butter (it's what I had at the time) and halved the recipe so I could make another flavor. It was perfect the 2nd time around. The time was only half in my oven. I'll still keep the 5 star rating because the rest was fine. I will be making this again. Thank you! Oh, on 400, the cookies only took 6 mins to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Point Of Rocks, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made 2 batches of this recipe. one with the suggestions and one following the recipe direct. i found following the direct recipe worked better. the dough is real stiff, but it wouldn't work in the cookie press other wise. tasty cookies. I made one with strawberry banana gelatin and one with berry blue. the berry ones had a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My Mom used this recipe about 40 years ago and I LOVED it. I am sooooo thrilled to find it again after all this time!!!! Thank you SO much this website is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I followed it exactly but the dough would not have made very good press cookies. I spooned them on the pan and took them out a little doughy. Blueberry. Yum! Dipped them in syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I love the idea. I used 2 cups of butter and two eggs, but split the recipe in half to use two different flavors of gelatin. In each I used a whole 3 oz package. The flavor was obvious but not overpowering. The changes added worked great with my cookie press, and I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I read the reviews and tweeked the recipe a bit. I used 2 sticks of crisco baking sticks instead of margarine, 3 1/4 cup of flour, 2 packages of jello. No problem with feeding it through cookie press. If you want you can refrigerate it but not needed. I put in fridge for a bit to do some other kind of cookies then took it out and ran a beater through it and dough was fine. After placing cookies on pan I sprinkled some jello on top. They are not too sweet but very easy for a beginner. We used Island Pineapple and Apricot in the dough and sprinkled with Strawberry/Banana. Cook for only 6 min and will be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sher_bear_30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have been making these cookies for over 40 years. My recipe says to bake them at 375 degrees. The time given is too long. I try 6 minutes, and then check cookies, adding more time if necessary--usually 50 seconds to 1 minute. The dough is too stiff using 4 cups of flour. I use 3 1/2 cups. The butter needs to be soft. Plus, you cannot mix them very easily unless you use your hands. Believe me, this works. There is a knack to using a cookie press. Not every cookie comes out right. I put the ones that don't back in bowl and continue with the next one. You need to be patient, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I modified this recipe a bit after reading the other reviews. Here's what I used - 2 cups margarine (4 sticks, creamed) 3.5 Cups Flour 1 tsp baking powder 4 oz gelatin (strawberry) 1 cup white granulated sugar 1.5 tsp vanilla extract (imitation) 2 eggs A smidge of gelatin powder on top of cookies First off let me apologize, in case perhaps I did it wrong and that's why they came out the way they did. They came out EDIBLE, good tasting. Perhaps someone could tell me what I did wrong or if they were supposed to come out like this. I tried them at a bunch of different cooking times, but they always came out looking BAD. I made so much today (with just one batch) and I cannot even serve them to anyone. Therefore I give this a 2. If there is something I did wrong, please let me know. I'd love to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlethings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I remember my Mom making these cookies when I was growing up. I made the mistake of following some of the other reviewers suggestions and they turned out crappy. The second time I made these I followed the recipe (I used butter instead of margarine)and they turned out perfect. I did bake them at 400 and I took them out at 6 minutes and they were perfect doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dandylynes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States