Fruity Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I made this for a friend at work, for her birthday. Usually chocolate is the request but this time she asked for cake with fruit so I found this recipe, baked it last night for the first time and was enjoyed by all today at break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I baked my cake for 1 hour and 10 minutes, and the outside was very dry - I think I must have hit a banana when I tested it at an hour. Even so, it was a fantastic cake - with all the fruit, it would be great for brunch. Will definetely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is very good, thank you! I think I will definitely sub applesauce for oil next time--I just don't have applesauce in the house right now. This makes a LARGE bunt cake--it really fills up the pan. I was worried it would spill over, but it didnt'. It rose over hte pan but no batter spilled in the oven, so that's all good. This cake ends up very crispy on the outside and very moist and fruity on the inside. It's very flavorful--my kind of cake (I'm picky--I prefer cakes with fruity flavors). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This is an awesome cake. We really enjoyed the blend of favors. To reduce the fat, I cut back the oil to 1/2 cup and replaced it with 1 1/4 c. plain yogurt. I also didn't have blueberries, so I used frozen saskatoons (native to our area)instead. I also cut back the sugar by 1/3 to 1/2 as we prefer cakes that are less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I made this for my daughter's first birthday and it was wonderful. We used the castle bundt pan and decorated with candies and homemade vanilla frosting. The pecans were omitted, plus I mixed the coconut flakes in with the rest of the batter. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
With minor variations, this is the classic Hummingbird Cake – and it’s a good variation at that! I liked so much about this recipe – the addition of blueberries, dicing rather than mashing the bananas and the additions of both nutmeg and cinnamon. Coating the pan with ground coconut was interesting, however, I didn’t do that as I was using specialty cakelet pans which didn’t make that particularly practical. While I wouldn’t say the cake is greasy, I do think reducing the oil by 1/4 c. wouldn’t hurt. This cake is rich, heavy and sweet, so in my view no icing is necessary – in fact, I would recommend against it. A simple dusting of powdered sugar is all this needs; although a very runny powdered sugar glaze just to shine it up would be nice too. (Note: My cakelet pans were 6 (one cup) individual molds. I used two of these pans for one recipe yielding, then, 12 individual cakelets. I baked them at 325 degrees for about 30 minutes, covered with foil toward the end of baking to prevent overbrowning)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JULI
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I reduced oil to half and change the pineapple for apple puree, this was my daughter's birthday cake, everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This tastes great! It is more like a bread than a cake, though. Like other reviewers, I added the coconut to the batter instead of making a powder for the outside of the cake. I will add more coconut next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Fantastic. I am a gourmet cook/baker. I made this cake for company, and they loved it too. I did, however, make a change. I felt 1-1/2 c. of oil seemed like too much, so I added 1 c. of canola oil and 1/2 c. softened butter. I added 1/2 c. of flaked coconut to the buttered bundt pan (not powdered), and I added another 1/3 c. of flaked coconut to the batter. I also increased the baking soda by 1/4 tsp, and sprinkled with powdered sugar after the cake cooled for about 15 mins. out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States