Fruited Tofu Curry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is SO good! Wonderful flavor and textures! Must try for vegetarians!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This recipe is very similar to a salad I found at whole foods. It's a bit spicy for me but not too bad. Great summer salad and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is a very versatile recipe! It can be made sweet or savory. I planned to make this as written, but for some reason as I was preparing it, I wasn't in the mood for the curry. So I left it out. I figured I'd take it to work for lunch the next day,but I brought the shaker tin of curry with me in case I wanted to add it in then. I also had some for a snack, and added a little honey and cinnamon... Was great considering the cranberries and walnuts . I discovered it's a great breakfast / snack .... So Ive also made this and added a container of a premix blend of nuts, seeds and dried fruits that I got at my healthfood store along with the other ingredients. So much better than just yogurt and granola.... And the protein packed tofu makes it a great breakfast that will hold you over until after lunch time!!!!! I'd like to try it with mint, apples, maybe pears and ginger. You really can add anything to it. I know I'll make this every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Excellent mix of sweet, spicy and tangy. For crispy tofu, shake the tofu cubes in a bag of corn meal and a little cumin before pan frying in olive oil. We served the salad in pitas on lettuce. Delicious! Next time I'd go for a flatbread instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Even though this is a vegetarian recipe, I made it with canned chicken. I also omitted the grapes, walnuts, cranberries and celery (out of lack of groceries in the house) and used raisins, greek yogurt and cashews. I loved the flavor and texture! It is as good as my favorite coffeeshop's Chicken Curry Salad Sandwich, and I'm so happy I can make it at home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is one of those use whatever you have that works recipes, I love it! I sautéed my tofu cubes after freezing for about an hour to firm up with a TB each of honey, olive oil, and curry powder. I ended up adding extra ts of curry and honey. I added freshly grated ginger while the tofu was sauteeing and now I feel like an idiot for not adding orange zest. I used nonfat yogurt, raisins in place of cranberries, cashews and almonds in place of walnuts, and used a apple and a peach, instead of grapes. I drizzled berry balsamic vinaigrette and mustard on top and mixed it in and that just made all the flavors pop. Way too strange for my family, but no matter. Fav ways to eat--with flavored Triscuits( the saltiness of the cracker and the sweetness of the tofu) and with a whole wheat tortilla, in a wrap with papaya and pineapple chunks folded in as well. whatever you do, you gotta love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I used tzatziki yogurt sauce and didn't have any grapes on hand; still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DKWAHINE
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I made this a while ago and never since. LOL. Just getting around to posting. I must say that I really enjoy curried chicken salad, but also really like tofu. This recipe had nice aspects - grapes, nuts, zing from yogurt, & yummy curry flavor- but I found I had to pan sear the tofu first with garlic and curry powder to get any flavor into it & then with the addition of celery (YUCK) I just couldn't wrap my tastebuds around this one. After the addition of additional dried fruit, I was able to swallow down a bit of it (mostly felt bad abt wasting the food). Too many textures and it almost had a curried cardboard aftertaste. LOL. Just my opinion. Give it a go! You may like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKWAHINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I love curry but I just did not like this salad. It was too bland...the tofu had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I really liked this one. I used lite tofu and fat free greek-style yogurt (Fage). I think it needs a little more spice, or toss in a few more cranberries or grapes. I ate mine in whole wheat tortillas, on lettuce, and in a pita. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States