Fruited Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
This was the best home-made ice cream I've ever had. I used skim milk and only 2 cups of strawberries, and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This is so easy, and if I half it, it's just the right size for our little ice cream freezer. Our favorite is peach, but we have also tried strawberries and various other fresh fruits. I like the texture best if I put the fruit in a food processor rather than chop it, but I still leave it a little bit chunky. It's smoother, and the fruit juice really gets into the mixture this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I have been searching for an easy, delicious, and fail-safe ice cream recipe. I think I've found it. We all devoured it. I didn't have any fresh strawberries so added 1 tsp mint extract and some shredded chocolate. It was the best!! I have a small ice cream maker, so I halved the recipe--still worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I made a scaled down version of this ice cream (slightly changed the proportions) over the 4th of July weekend and served the fruit over it instead of in it. Very creamy and delicious - a hit with 4 different families so far. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I had never liked banana ice cream till we made this recipe. It was delicious, very creamy, not grainy like some homemade ice creams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
While I make ice cream often, this is the first time I made it with sweetened condensed milk and with a higher proportion of milk to heavy cream. It most likely will also be the last time, as the quality of the ice cream suffers for it. Unlike the fresh dairy taste, richness, creaminess and velvety-smooth mouth feel you get from using using heavy cream and half-and-half or milk, this is more like ice milk and has somewhat of an icy graininess to it by comparison. Also, I found the little frozen chunks of fruit (I used strawberries) and the "canned" taste of the sweetened condensed milk unappealing - and I can think of nothing to support using it. This experiment with making ice cream with the condensed milk proved to me once again that using fresh ingredients is almost always best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
I made this recipe with peaches - they were a bit underripe, so it wasn't very fruity. And I found the sweetened condensed milk flavour overpowering. Next time I'll try a vanilla recipe and add fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
It should have called for more fruit.. mine didn't taste especially starwberry-ey. Possibly the addition of an egg would make it more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
The BEST!! Used mangos in it and it was the best,too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
We made this ice cream with fresh from the orchard peaches and it was DELICIOUS!! I just hope the two quarts we made lasts long enough for my husband to try it when he gets home from work! This will be our next family reunion ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States