Fruited Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My whole family really enjoys this recipe. I have made this 3 times so far, once with raspberries. After we made the strawberry icecream I thought it might be better if the strawberries were mashed a little, although I have not tried this yet, but I will. I have also tried once using FF half and half in place of the milk and FF sweetened cond. milk, and the heavy cream and no one could tell the difference. I thought it froze well too both ways fine. If you want the taste more like Breyers(which I love), is to heat the milk, take a vanilla bean, slice it open lengthwise, scrap out the inside with a spoon or blunt end of knife, stir it in the milk mixture,then toss the whole bean in the milk, chill. Before mixing, take out the bean, rinse it, dry it, and you could put in a sugar container for vanilla sugar later for your coffee, tea or use the sugar for cooking. If you do this do not add as much vanilla extract, I only put about half. But made just like the recipe states, it is very good, and my family all voted we like this one the best so far out of about 6 recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C. Wheeler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I substituted pineapple for the berries. It was easy to make, but not the best ice cream recipe I've used. The texture was a little bit more icey than creamy. It was good out of the machine, but didn't freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Just starting to play with making our own ice cream and must say that this is the best recipe so far. Great combo of ease and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I made strawberry ice cream and it reminded me of Breyers. I would suggest mixing the ingredients in a bowl and then chill for at least 1 hour (if not 4)before using the ice cream maker. The cooler you get all tools and ingredients, the less ice crystals you will have leaving you with a creamier product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This might be a 5-star recipe, but I was forced to make a substitution; our grocery store was out of heavy cream, so I used light cream, half and half and just a little milk. It's a little icy- is this why? The taste is amazing- not too sweet. My husband and I made peach, and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon- really really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Have made the Strawberry and Vanilla. Both times they were excellent. Got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
OMG, this is sooo good. Hubby came home and asked what I did today. Oh, nothing...just made some homemade strawberry ice cream! He loved it, and he doesn't like a lot of sweets. Used fresh strawberries from our garden. Delicious! Will try with peaches next. Really easy, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chanute, Kansas, USA
Living In: Maize, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Even though I messed this recipe up, it still turned out wonderful! I'm new to my ice cream maker and didn't read the directions, so the sweetened condensed milk froze to the bottom instead of mixing with the other ingredients (live and learn!). We scraped out everything we could, added a little more cream, blended it all in the blender and stuck it in the freezer. It tasted a little more...crystally? than creamy and I imagine that was due to it not having much of the sweetened condensed milk in there. Even with all that, everyone said that it was the best strawberry ice cream that they've ever had! Even my eldest son...who generally doesn't like strawberry ice cream! I will definitely be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Add extra berries or fruit or just make plain for vanilla ice cream. 1/2 recipe is the correct amount for kitchenaid ice cream attachment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Excellent homemade ice cream! One of the best I've tried. I prefer smooth ice cream to chunky, so I used frozen strawberries and blended them with the milk in the blender until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States