Fruited Curry Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is a variation of a standard popular recipe, and while still good, it can use some tweaking. To thin the mayonnaise, combine with a portion of sour cream or yogurt and maybe even a little lemon juice. Golden raisins and green grapes are a redundancy. Use dark raisins or dried cranberries, or red grapes for color and contrast, and I would prefer red onion or scallions. Remember to add salt to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This is almost the same recipe as the "Fruity Curry Chicken Salad" except this one uses real mayo instead of light mayo and onion instead of green onion. I prefer the light mayo because it is healthier and the green onion because it is more colorful. Otherwise THEY TASTE THE SAME! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I've substituted with one or more of the following without any detriment to the taste: leftover turkey, leftover rotisserie chicken, canned chicken, red grapes, green onions, dried cranberries, and roasted chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This recipe was fabulous! So easy to prepare and delicious. I made it a little healthier by substituting plain nonfat yogurt for the mayonnaise. I love curry, so I added an extra dash or two to the mixture, and I added curry to the chicken while it was cooking. I omitted the onion and celery because I don't always care for those two ingredients. I made this recipe on Sunday night and ate it for lunch during the week - it just got better every day as the curry was absorbed by the yogurt. Thank you Karen for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This is an excellent recipe..I do not use the onions, and I mix some sour cream with the mayo for a lighter dressing, and also add honey..We serve little side cups of shredded sweetened coconut .I also use more curry powder..The customers love it!!!(yes, I work in a restraunt.) It is served on a lettuce leaf, or in a croissant, or even in mini Father Sams Pocket Bread.....this is a 10 plus , if you like curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Easy and delicious - plus it's a great way to use up leftover grilled chicken! I didn't have pecans so I subbed toasted walnuts instead. I used a Granny Smith Apple and red seedless grapes vs. green. I also used dried cranberries vs. raisins. I mixed the dressing in a separate bowl before folding it into the chicken and other ingredients. For the dressing I used 1/2 cup of Hellman's light mayo cut with 1/4 cup of reduced fat sour cream along with the curry and a bit of salt and pepper. It chilled for just a couple of hours and it came out really good. Overall, a great combination of flavors! Especially good on whole grain bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
EXCELLENT!!!! When my daughter, mother, and I tasted this our eyes rolled back into our heads. It was light and refreshing. I didn't have apples so I just left them out. I substituted walnuts for the pecans and used red grapes instead of green. What a treat to have found this recipe. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Too much onion! In fact it could probably do without all together. The recipe as is stinks and made me sick. But, it's easy to do and that's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Absolutely the best! I've already made it twice in one week, the second time I doubled the recipe so there'd be more!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Delicious! I cheated and used the food processor to do most of my slicing (even the grapes) making this salad a cinch to prepare. I added about one tablespoon of honey which gave it a tasty sweetness. I'll make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
OHHHHHH *so* delicious! I substituted lemon pepper for the black pepper, and toasted almonds for the pecans. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States