Fruited Curry Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I used left overs from a roasted chicken and it's absolutely delicious. The blend of flavors is perfect. I didn't have grapes and I didn't miss them but I'm sure it would be great with them too. I also left out the toasted pecans because I'm not a fan of nuts in my chicken salads. I will make this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Also good with tofu instead of chicken, or with cajun seasoning instead of curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Let sit for atleast a few hours. I cut the mayo with some plain yogurt, and added chopped pineapple instead of grapes. Next time a might add some shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I loved this! made a few modifications based on what I had on hand but it was great no matter what. A healthy alternative would definately be to use nonfat plain yogurt instead of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
A little too much onions so I cut it in half. I doubled the amount of curry. I'd cut the chicken into very smaller pieces. I reduced the mayo by 1/3 and replaced it with yogurt. I think it would be good in a pita for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is the best chicken salad I have ever had! I made it last night after stumbling upon this website and ate it for breakfast, lunch and dinner today! I brought some to a friend for a lunch treat today and she said it was the best curry chicken salad she ever had too! My husband and kids even loved it. I am now planning a "girls" luncheon just so I can impress more friends with it! I might change the green grapes to red grapes just for color but otherwise I would leave it as is. I sauteed my chicken breasts in vegetable oil to cook them and doubled the recipe. I think it would be great with any chicken, I may even try it with some shortcuts chicken if I'm in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANOTHERTRIXIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
WONDERFUL!! I used Craisins instead of raisins (because I abhor raisins); I used untoasted pecans; I used much more curry than the recipe called for (maybe 3x the amount? I didn't measure). Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a tee and let it sit untouched for 24 hours to let the flavors mingle. My husband and I had it last night for dinner (kids won't eat curry) and WOW! It was delicious!! My husband went for seconds and thirds. I was afraid none would be left for round two... Thanks so much for the recipe. It's a DEFINITE keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
EXCELLENT! However after reading others suggestions, I added 1/2 c. of plain yogurt to make more moist (A MUST), doubled the curry for more flavor, and a dash of sugar. If boiling the chicken breast, add chicken buillion (if have)and pepper to the water for more flavor. Everyone loved it at my ladies gathering. I would say yogurt or sour cream is essential with the mayo, otherwise, too dry. TRY THIS even if you don't have the extras like raisins or pecans but must have the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was awesome! My husband said this was the best chicken salad he has ever had. My husband, kids, and I kept eating this. I thought I would have some left for lunch tomorrow, but we ate it all. I did make a few changes. I did not have curry, so I used half cumin and half coriander seed. I sprinkled some cinnamon in with it. I also took the advice of others and used 1/2 cup mayo mixed with 1/4 cup sour cream. I added a few sprinkles of lemon juice to the sour cream. I also used dark raisins and added salt to taste. I left out the onion and celery and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States